University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

HWST 675: Polynesian temples - Society Islands: Library Information

Hawaiian & Pacific Hours

FALL 2017
Aug 21 - Dec 15

Reading Room, Reference Desk, Circulation Desk
MON-FRI: 9:00am-5:00pm
SATURDAY: closed
SUNDAY: First Sunday of each month: 1:00pm-5:00pm

Paging service stops 15 minutes before closing.
Rare, archival and manuscript use stops 30 minutes before closing.


All Library Hours

Getting Started

Mouse over title for information.

Other Useful Links

Mouse over title for information.

Hawaiian and Pacific Collections

Hawaiian and Pacific Collections Reading Room

 

The Hawaiian & Pacific Collections, located on the fifth floor of Hamilton Library, are among the world's most comprehensive collections of material on Hawaiʻi and the island nations of the Pacific. Both collections have comprehensive acquisitions policies, meaning that they collect in all subject areas, in all formats (print, audio-visual, photographic, etc.), all languages and from all eras, starting with the earliest printed material produced in, or about, Hawaiʻi and the Pacific Islands and continuing through the present day.

The Hawaiian & Pacific Collections are "closed shelf" collections, meaning that you cannot wander through the stacks and pull books off the shelf as you see them. Instead, you need to search for them within the Voyager online catalog and request them using "Get This Item." (For instructions on requesting books, click here). Once items have been requested they will be available for pick-up at our fifth floor circulation counter in roughly 10 minutes.

Our hours are different from the rest of the library (9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday-Friday). Some of our materials can only be used in the library. It's therefore important to budget your time wisely when working on projects. Whenever possible, try to do your Voyager searches and requests before you come to the library, so that your materials will be waiting for you when you arrive. Find out which materials can only be used in the library -- you might want to photocopy or scan portions of these texts to take with you. (The Hawaiian & Pacific Collections have two photocopy machines and one scanner in the reading room.)

Your Library Staff

Stu Dawrs
Pacific Collection
Senior Pacific Specialist
dawrs@hawaii.edu

Eleanor Kleiber
Pacific Collection
Pacific Specialist
ekleiber@hawaii.edu

Jodie Mattos
Hawaiian Collection
Hawaiʻi Specialist
jodie@hawaii.edu

Dore Minatodani
Hawaiian Collection
Senior Hawaiʻi Specialist
dorem@hawaii.edu

Kapena Shim
Hawaiian Collection
Hawaiʻi Specialist
dorem@hawaii.edu

Andrea Nakamura
Hawaiian and Pacific Collections
andrean@hawaii.edu

Wes Poka
Hawaiian and Pacific Collections
wesp@hawaii.edu

Ann Rabinko
Hawaiian and Pacific Collections
rabinko@hawaii.edu