University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

PACS 108: Pacific Worlds - Contemporary Art & Performance: Multi-media

This guide is meant to aid students in finding materials about visual and performance art in the Pacific. If you are researching a more general Pacific Islands Studies topic click here

Finding Films and Audio Recordings

These tabs have information on how to find films and audio in the library's collections, as well as online.

Click here for Voyager

  • Go to the "Advanced" tab.  Type your search terms into the Search box.  Further below there is a scroll box with the title "Type".  With the "Ctrl" key pressed down, select these four options: Videorecording/DVD, Musical RecordingNonmusical Recording, and Serial Videorecording/DVD.


  • Look at the holdings information at the bottom of the cataloging record. Many of the results will be available at the Wong A/V Center in Sinclair Library. If a video is available electronically, it will be linked in the holdings information.  Click on the long URL after "Web Site/Electronic Resource"


  • Films on Demand  Films on Demand provides streaming access to educational videos in the humanities, social and natural sciences, business and health. Includes access to the film Made in Taiwan, which follows Oscar Kightly and Nathan Rarere as they trace their roots from Aotearoa to the Cook Islands, Samoa and Taiwan.
  • Micronesian Seminar Videos  Micronesian Seminar has over 60 free videos available for downloading. Subjects range from the history of the islands to current social issues and health care.
     
  • Pacific Network An Internet network with multiple channels featuring news, entertainment, original programming, vintage television from Hawaiʻi, provided free to the public.
     
  • Pacific Streaming Videos Videos from Sinclair Library's collection, which have been digitized and are available for viewing on your computer (requires internet connect and valid UH-Mānoa ID/password). See especially the tab for Art, Music and Dance.
     
  • Pasifika Poetry Includes both audio and video of poets from throughout Oceania.
  • PREL  Videos produces by the Pacific Resources for Education and Learning and are mostly relevant to Micronesia and education.
  • NZ On screen  Explore an excellent collection of documentaries, TV shows, and feature films from New Zealand. Includes several films about Pacific art and music.
  • Asia Pacific Films  AsiaPacificFilms.com streams culturally and historically significant films from Asia and the Pacific. Titles include: The Land Has Eyesa feature film that includes one version of the Rotuman origin story.

For more information on accessing films online, see the Sinclair Library webpage about videos.

Loading

Online Image Collections

These tabs have links to online photograph and image collections.

        

The images above is from the Hawaiian & Pacific Images Collection (left) and the George Grace Linguistic Research and Slides of Melanesia Collection (right); they illustrate the wide variety of images available in the library's online collections. The below list includes only Hawaiʻi/Pacific-related digital collections; for links to all of Hamilton Library's digital collections, click here. Mouse over title for information on specific collections.)

Mouse over title for description. (Image above is from the Micronesian Seminar photo album "The '70s: Revival of Towns.")

Loading

Ethnographic Video Online

ArtStor


You can find Sophia Tekala-Smith's Savage Island Man with Pure in the database ArtStor