University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

HWST 341 - Mo'okū'auhau: Hawaiian Genealogies: Archives & Special Collections

Tips & Tricks

  • Search the Catalog
  • Catch the Bus
  • Bring a Camera & External Drive
  • Bring Quarters
  • Bring a Sweater
  • Pack Home Lunch
  • Hawaiian Pacific Collection at UH Manoa

Hawaiian & Pacific Collections, UH Mānoa

Website: http://library.manoa.hawaii.edu/departments/hp/

Collections: The Hawaiian Collection at UH Manoa holds the largest collection of published materials about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. One of the biggest strengeths of this collection is their expansive collection of newspapers on mircofilm published throughout Hawaiʻi. Another strength is their archival collections from the Hawaiʻi Sugar Planters Association and thesis and disserations across the world that all pertain to Hawaiʻi. 

Hawai'i State Archives

Website: http://ags.hawaii.gov/archives/

Collection: The Hawaiʻi State Archives preserves and provides access to the State’s government archives and special collections. These records date from the monarchy to the current legislative session, and also include the papers of individuals and organizations, photographs, maps, artifacts, rare books, 19th century newspapers.

LDS Family History Centers

Find locations near you: https://familysearch.org/locations/

Collection: The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints maintains several Family History Centers throughout the State for the purpose of providing a place for genealogy research. The centers contain similar genealogical material but some collections are more complete than others. Before visiting the center, be sure to give them a call to find out their hours and any policies you need to know about.

Hawaiian Historical Society

Website: https://www.hawaiianhistory.org

Collection: The Historical Society has a strong collection of early voyages and Hawaiian-language books. This collection also has many unique manuscript collections, as well as broadsides and pamplets published in Hawaiʻi. This collection also has one of the largest collections of Hawaiian language newspapers still available in physical form.

SPECIAL NOTE: The Historical Society and Missionʻs Children Society Library are located in the same building.

Hawaiian Mission Childrenʻs Society Library

Website: http://www.missionhouses.org/index.php/library/library-collection

Collection: The HMCS/MHM Library has the largest collection of Hawaiian-language books as well as the largest collection of missionary correspondance, journals, and reports. 

SPECIAL NOTE: The Historical Society and Missionʻs Children Society Library are located in the same building.

Bishop Museum Library & Archives

Website: http://www.bishopmuseum.org/research/library/libarch.html

Collection: The museum’s Archives holds the results of extensive studies done by Museum staff in various disciplines throughout the Pacific, as well diverse and important collections of manuscripts, photographs, artwork, oral histories, commercial sound recordings and maps about Hawaii chiefs, people, culture, and history.

SPECIAL NOTE: The Bishop Museum Library and Archives no longer has weekly public hours. In order to do research, you must make an appointment.

Looking for more?

Check out the Directory of Historical Records Repositories in Hawaiʻi (5th Edition, 2014, PDF) to learn about other archival repositories and their collections.