Skip to main content

Daniel K. Inouye Distinguished Lecture Series: Daniel K. Inouye Congressional Papers Project & Distinguished Lecture Series

A guide to educational resources that further the understanding of the themes surrounding the lecture series.

Live Stream and Social Media

Streaming of the event will be available on the Daniel K. Inouye Lectures website. Be a part of the conversation by following @DKIInstitute (#Inouye) and @KlugeCtr on Instagram and Twitter. 

Event Details

 Library of Congress/ Daniel K. Inouye Institute Distinguished Lecture Series

Protecting National Security and Civil Liberties

Featuring Secretary of Transportation Norman Mineta and Senator Alan Simpson

Moderated by Ann Compton

Coolidge Auditorium, The Library of Congress

April 19, 5:45 PM EST/ 11:45 AM HST 


The Daniel K. Inouye Institute and the Library of Congress Kluge Center will present the second of five lectures on April 19, 2016. This year’s speakers, former Senator Alan K. Simpson (WY) and former Secretary of Transportation, Norman Mineta, will discuss the protection of civil liberties in times of national crisis. The event will be moderated by Ann Compton of ABC News. See the Library of Congress Press Release or visit danielkinouyelectures.org to learn more about the series.

Daniel K. Inouye Papers Project

The Hawaii Congressional Papers is undergoing a three year project to process and digitize the Senator Daniel K. Inouye Papers. With the collection at over 1200 linear feet the library has hired two archives technicians and three students assistants to work on the project. 

The project team is completing a series of preservation tasks for the papers including removal of rusty metal fasteners and rubber bands, and sleeving photographic material. The material is arranged in its original order by the creator whenever possible, but the team must sometimes arrange the papers in a way that is easier for researchers to navigate.

Once a series (sub-group) in the collection is complete a description and inventory is entered into the Library's collection management software, ArchivesSpace. The software save the description in XML mark-up, which can be easily preserved and migrated to other collection management tools in the future.

The project team is also selecting material from the collection to digitize. When the collection is made public in 2028 the University of Hawaii at Manoa will operate a shared online reading room with the Library of Congress. Researchers in the Library of Congress reading room will be able to have access to select digitized material from the collection.