Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
(Shuri Castle / 首里城正殿)
Okinawan Studies Library Guide has been developed to support your research on Okinawa & Ryukyu / 沖縄・琉球 at the UHM Library. Sources with "UHM Only" notation means that you need to log in the UHM Library system with your UHM username and password to use the sources. Hope you will find the information of a wide range of resources on Okinawa/Ryukyu helpful.
Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog
Japan/Okinawan Studies LibGuides
UHM Library Okinawa Collection
UHM Center for Okinawan Studies
UHM Center for Japan Studies
Library Guides (LibGuides) to Japanese & Okinawan research
Where is your collection located?
The general materials are integrated into the East (Japanese language) and Asia (English & other western languages) Collections of Hamilton Library on the 3rd and 4th floors. Hamilton Library's floor plans are available here
. Please use the Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog
to identify the resources you need.
I heard you have special collections. What are they? How can I access?
The Japan Collection holds the following special collections housed in the Asia Special Collections room. All the items are not
circulating. The Japan Collection staff retrieves materials prior to your visit. Please read the access policy
to make an appointment in advance.
When are you open?