University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Ke Au Hou - Generations of Pacific librarianship: Conference Program

Website for the Pacific Librarianship Conference being held May 1-3 2018

Overview

Day 1: May 1, 2018

LEAP pre-conference workshop

Keynote Speaker: Sharon Dell

Panel 1: Honoring Our Past

Evening Reception

Day 2: May 2, 2018

Keynote Speaker: Luisa Tora

Panel 2: Collection Development & Management

Panel 3: Librarianship in Cultural Context

Panel 4: Ethics in Librarianship

Conference dinner

Day 3: May 3, 2018

Working Groups: the Future of Pacific Librarianship

LEAP student presentations

Day 1: May 1, 2018

LEAP pre-conference workshop

Creating, Curating, and Preserving Digital Collections: Preserving the Digital Heritage. All conference participants are welcome.

Keynote Speaker

Sharon Dell - University of Otago Hoken Librarian. Sharon Dell has a long experience working with New Zealand/Pacific heritage collections.  She was at the Alexander Turnbull Library working primarily with unpublished collections from 1974 to 1995. She was then Director of the Whanganui Regional Museum before being appointed Hocken Librarian in 2008.  She has worked with Pacific collections in GLAM sector and undertaken consultancy in the Pacific with the Vanuatu Culture Centre.  She has also worked with New Zealand’s Pasifika communities through exhibition projects such as Tapa; heartbeat of the Pacific at Whanganui Regional Museum and Heart of Fiji: Photographs by Arthur Hocart, 1909-1914 at Alexander Turnbull Library.

Panel 1: Honoring Our Past

In this panel we will discuss the legendary people who built the foundations of librarianship in our region. Who are the people who created your library and/or shaped librarianship on your island? What legacies did you inherit from them? How do you maintain or honor the work of librarians who came before? How does your library space reflect those legacies?

Evening reception

Held in the Hawaiian & Pacific Collection's reading room. A celebratory event with appetizers and entertainment. All conference attendees are welcome.

Day 2: May 2, 2018

Keynote speaker

Luisa Tora - Fiji native, Luisa Tora is an artist, activist, writer, and a librarian. She worked in human rights in Fiji and the Pacific before moving to Aotearoa New Zealand in 2009. She is a Library Assistant at Ōtāhuhu Library, Auckland Libraries. She has appeared in several group shows and curated and co-curated a series of exhibitions that highlight feminist, LGBQTI+, and indigenous themes (VASU: Pacific Women of Power (Fiji, 2008), I Stand With You (Auckland, 2014), When Can I See You Again? (Auckland, 2016), and WANTOK (Auckland, 21 April-26 May 2018). She initiated and convenes Tōia Talks, a free public lecture series at Ōtāhuhu Library in South Auckland. She has a BA Journalism and Pacific History & Politics (2002) from the University of the South Pacific, and a BA Creative Arts (Visual Arts, 2014) from Manukau Institute of Technology. Her work can be found in private collections in Aotearoa New Zealand and the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa. She is part of The Veiqia Project, the creative research project and exhibitions inspired by Fijian female tattoo.

Photo by Sangeeta Singh

Panel 2: Collection Development and Management

This panel is an opportunity to share our present challenges, creative solutions, and triumphs related to collection development and/or management. What are the external pressures that are driving change in how you develop and manage your collections, and what are you doing to address these pressures? Are you building new spaces (either physical or digital), or are you changing the way you use old spaces? Are you collecting and managing new types of material? Are you describing and organizing materials in a new way? 

Panel 3: Librarianship in Cultural Context

The purpose of this panel is to explore the diverse ways in which librarianship and the cultures of Oceania intersect and influence each other. How does your island or your culture define the purpose of libraries? Does your cultural context impact the way in which your library is used? How does your cultural context shape or define your job as a librarian? How does culture influence the way you promote your collections or interact with patrons? 

Panel 4: Ethics in Librarianship

In this panel we focus on the sticky ethical situations that can happen in the library. Is there a certain type of material in your collection that creates an ethical issue? Do you have to define access rules depending on the type of material, or the identity of the patron? Do you have the authority to define the solution, or do you have to collaborate with another institution or group? How does your position as a librarian shape your sense of responsibility in these situations?

Conference dinner

We will be hosting a conference dinner. All participants are invited.

Day 3: May 3, 2018

Working Groups: the Future of Pacific Librarianship

We will divide into working groups. Each group will have a facilitator and include a mix of librarians, researchers, and students. All groups will be asked to address specific questions related to the future of librarianship in our region. Facilitators will synthesize the results during lunch and then we will reconvene and share.

LEAP student presentations

The University of North Texas-Department of Library and Information Sciences (UNT/DLIS) in partnership with Brigham Young University-Hawaii (BYU-HI) brought its ALA accredited Master's degree cohort program and online format to the U.S.-Affiliated Pacific Islands (USAPI) with a second LEAP Program.

The students of the second LEAP Program will be presenting their final projects.

Presenters