It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JOUR 300/JOUR 481: Defense
This guide was created for the courses JOUR 300: Reporting and JOUR 481: Entrepreneurship and Innovation in Journalism
The Military History Institute at the Army War College has an extensive collection of unit histories. The Army Military Institute also has copies of Army publications that may not be available elsewhere.
The CLA, part of the National Archives, is the repository for copies of documents printed by the Government Printing Office. Its holdings date back to 1895. It is the collection of last resort for publications listed in the Monthly Catalog of Government Publications.
DTIC is the Defense Technical Information Center. You can search technical reports from many military sources, most of which are available in full text. We may have other reports in print or microform.
Duke University Library is a Center of Excellence for Economic Analysis Bureau, International Trade Administration, International Trade Commission, Military History Center, Naval Historical Center, and Women's Bureau. It collects publications of these agencies comprehensively.
Full text content consists of peer-reviewed and other scholarly journals, with a focus on engineering. The database includes the following features: over 100 new full text titles added, bringing the total number of full text to 287 titles, full text country reports from CountryWatch, 245 full text pamphlets, and indexing and abstract coverage for dozens of newly added journals.
EBSCO has made changes to the database previously entitled Military Library FullTEXT. The database, now known as Military and Government Collection, has been enhanced with added content. EBSCO has also given the database a sharper focus to better meet the needs of its users in military and non-military government libraries.
Why is it so hard to get information from the military?
Looking at the entire U.S. government, military and intelligence agencies are the most circumspect and make the smallest amount of information publicly available. This is partly due to the nature of military and intelligence activities, but it is also part of the institutional culture to tightly control information and its dissemination. In addition, service members face severe penalties for unauthorized release of information.
Military agencies and units have public affairs officers who may be the first point of contact. It is helpful to have an understanding of where the agency fits in the military hierarchy.
The Department of Defense relies heavily on contractors to do everything from building weapons systems to running computer systems to preparing meals. It can be difficult to get information about the number of government contractors working for defense agencies and the different types of work they are contracted to perform. The Center for Public Integrity is one organization that tracks defense contractors. USAspending.gov allows you to search for government contractors by state.
Outside organizations often do a better job of compiling data about defense industries and military activities. Here are some examples:
Jane's publishes analytic reports about weapons systems, defense and intelligence strategy, and budgets. However, the reports are available by subscription only. Another subscription-based resource is GlobalSecurity.org.