Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

JOUR 300/JOUR 481: Law Enforcement and Courts

This guide was created for the courses JOUR 300: Reporting and JOUR 481: Entrepreneurship and Innovation in Journalism

Resources for Hawai‘i Innocence Project Research

Databases for Court Records

Ho‘ohiki provides access to State of Hawaiʻi-Judiciary Family Court *civil* case records from 1983-present. The information displayed is from official records, but does not comprise all information from court records available to the public. Confidential cases, sealed cases and sealed documents also are not available online. The Judiciary updates case information every evening. Generally, data is current to within 48 hours of the date a court document is filed or a court proceeding is heard.

State of Hawaii Judiciary sealeCourt Kōkua provides access to documents from traffic, District and Circuit Court criminal and civil, Family (Adult) Court *criminal*, tax court, land court, and appellate cases. There is a fee to purchase copies of documents.

 

The Hawai'i State Archives provides access to Hawaiʻi Judiciary Branch records ranging from 1839-1970. These Judiciary court records include: civil, criminal, marriages, divorce, equity, law, probate and wills. Please see the Description of Collections for other related materials housed in the collection.  

Criminal History Databases

United States District Court

U.S. District Court of Hawaiʻi online records are available through PACER or in person through the U.S. District Court Hawaiʻi. All records in the clerk's office are available to the public, except for those sealed by the court. Archival requests are available. Individuals who request files from archives can expect to review those files within 2-3 weeks. There is a retrieval fee of $45.00.

Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information from federal appellate, district and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator via the Internet. Searching the database is free but there is a fee to download documents.

U.S. Supreme Court Research Resources

Honolulu Police Department

Hawai‘i statistics

National statistics