University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Geology & Geophysics: Articles & Databases

OneSearch Manoa

OneSearch is a tool that searches almost everything UHM library has access to. OneSearch is able to search through multiple databases and the UH Voyager Catalog at one time. Results include books, articles, conference papers, maps, government documents, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

 

Databases relevant to geology


Listed here are several databases relevant to geology and geophysics research. Curious about other databases? Browse the SciTech Reference Department's complete list of databases used for the sciences and technology. 

  • Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts:
    Covers journal literature, technical and conference reports from 1974 to present in meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry & physics,astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences.

     
  • Compendex via Engineering Village 2 1970-present
    Citations with abstracts to international engineering journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and trade publications.
     
  • Geobase via Engineering Village 2 1994-presentCitations for journal articles, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports, many with abstracts, in environmental sciences and geology.

  • GeoRef via Engineering Village 2
    This version covers geological literature, maps, with records from 1785 to present.  Go to Advanced Search for more options.


  • Web of Science 1980-present
    Three indexes/databases Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities. Covers the core scholarly journal literature of all disciplines from 1980 to the present. The most up-to-date of the indexes. Select General Search to search on a topic. You can sort the retrieved papers by the number of citations; this is a good way to find older papers that have contributed to more current research. Select Cited Reference Search to search for papers that cite a particular author or reference.


  • Zoological Record (via Web of Science 1978 - Present)
    Citations with abstracts for publications covering all aspects of zoology. Authoritative source on animal names and identification (taxonomy and systematics).

These interdisciplinary databases contain journals and articles related to geology and geophysics:

  • Academic Search CompletePresent Citations with abstracts and full text articles for academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and books from science, social science, and humanities. 
  • JSTOR provides full-text journal backfiles in many disciplines including general science, ecology, mathematics and statistics scholarly journal literature.

Review sources

Annual Review of Earth & Planetary Sciences: Substantial review articles written by experts in their fields provide an overview of research in the earth sciences.  Search or Browse the volumes.  Full text articles available back to 1996, search back to 1973.  Print version (QH540 .A53) is also available in Hamilton Library from 1973 to 2008 on the 2nd floor Addition.

Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics: Substantial review articles written by experts in their fields provide an overview of research in the earth sciences.  Search or Browse the volumes.  Full text articles available back to 1996, searching back to 1973.  Print version is also available in Hamilton Library (QH540 .A53) on the 3rd floor Addition. 

Government documents and gray literature

Marcive: A catalog of U.S. Government Printing Office publications from 1976 to present.  Provides links to online documents & library holdings information. 

Hawaiʻi Statewide GIS Program: Spatial data that includes maps of natural resources & environmental layers, e.g. vegetation, bird habitats.

Science.gov: Search for online U.S. government reports across agencies & departments.

Columbia Earthscape: Includes journal articles, book chapters, conference reports, regional studies, think-tank reports, legislation related to environmental sciences through 2009.  Click on Search and enter your keyword terms.

Scholarly journals for geology


Here are important titles for geology and geophysics scholarly literature. UHM subscribes to hundreds of scholarly journals. Use the library's a-z e-journal finder to browse titles. 

The journal links listed below will lead you to a Voyager catalog record. This screenshot explains how to access the journal from the catalog record.