Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music collections at University Archives
While many collections at UHM University Archives in Hamilton have items relating to music, there are three main collection from Hawaii musicians. Follow the links to the online finding aids for these collections.
Alexander Borisoff papers
Professional papers of musician and composer Alexander Borisoff and his wife and frequent collaborator, June Starr Borisoff. Most papers are manuscript scores for Borisoff's major compositions, including his two works of Hawaiiana: Liliu, an opera, and Impressions of Hawaii, a symphonic work. Other items include news clippings, correspondence, program notes, concert programs and advertisements, and pedagogical materials.
Ruth Orcutt Bacon papers
Papers of Viola "Ruth" Orcutt Bacon (1900–2003), a composer, instructor, and musician who taught at Punahou School and performed as a soloist with the Honolulu Symphony. The collection consists primarily of musical scores but also includes letters, a copyright confirmation notice, and a vinyl record.
Franz A. Ballaseyus papers
Personal papers of Franz A. Ballaseyus (a musician, teacher, and conductor who lived and work briefly in Hawaii), including journals and scrapbooks, military service documents, a marriage certificate, and news clippings.