University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Oceanography: Articles & Databases

Oceans, ocean engineering, biology of oceans, marine sciences

Boat on the water.

OneSearch Manoa

OneSearch is a tool that searches almost everything UHM library has access to. OneSearch is able to search through multiple databases and the UH Voyager Catalog at one time. Results include books, articles, conference papers, maps, government documents, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

 

Databases relevant to oceanography


Listed here are several databases relevant to oceanography and marine sciences research. Curious about other databases? Browse the SciTech Reference Department's complete list of databases used for the sciences and technology. 

  • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) via CSA 1971 - present

    Citations with abstracts for publications in science, technology and management of marine, brackish and freshwater environments.

  • Compendex via Engineering Village 2 1970-present

    Citations with abstracts to international engineering journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and trade publications.

  • Geobase via Engineering Village 2 1994-present

    Citations for journal articles, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports, many with abstracts, in environmental sciences and geology.

  • GeoRefvia Engineering Village 2

    This version covers geological literature, maps, with records from 1785 to present.  Go to Advanced Search for more options.

  • Oceanic Abstracts via CSA 1981 - present

    Citations and abstracts covering worldwide technical literature on the marine and brackish-water environments.

  • Web of Science 1980-present

    Three indexes/databases Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities. Covers the core scholarly journal literature of all disciplines from 1980 to the present. The most up-to-date of the indexes. Select General Search to search on a topic. You can sort the retrieved papers by the number of citations; this is a good way to find older papers that have contributed to more current research. Select Cited Reference Search to search for papers that cite a particular author or reference.

  • Zoological Record (via Web of Science 1978 - Present)

    Citations with abstracts for publications covering all aspects of zoology. Authoritative source on animal names and identification (taxonomy and systematics).

These interdisciplinary databases contain journals and articles related to geology and geophysics:

  • Academic Search CompletePresent Citations with abstracts and full text articles for academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and books from science, social science, and humanities. 
  • JSTOR provides full-text journal backfiles in many disciplines including general science, ecology, mathematics and statistics scholarly journal literature.

U.S. Government Publications

National Water-Quality Assessment (NAWQA) Program, a program of the United States Geological Survey

Click on the Publications tab in the navigation bar, select Hawaii and you will retrieve a list of publications on water quality in Hawaii. The publications are online and freely available.

Water Resources Research Center of the University of Hawaii reports are listed in Hawaii Voyager. Search"Water Resources Research Center" in Basic Search (phrase is enclosed in quotes).

Many of the reports are also available in ScholarSpace, the UH Institutional Repository. Search Advanced Search, select Water Resources Research Center to search, then enter your keywords.

Scholarly journals for oceanography


Here are important titles for oceanography and marine science scholarly literature. UHM subscribes to hundreds of scholarly journals. Use the library's a-z e-journal finder to browse titles. 

The journal links listed below will lead you to a Voyager catalog record. This screenshot explains how to access the journal from the catalog record.