Okinawan Studies: BLOG / News

List of Okinawa Related Materials Held in USA by NAKAMOTO Kazuhiko

仲本和彦、『在米沖縄関係文書の資料地図』

An archivist named NAKAMOTO Kazuhiko (仲本和彦) at the Okinawa Prefectural Archives in Okinawa, Japan, has complied a list of Okinawa related materials held in the United States. Mr. Nakamoto started this project almost 20 years ago, and his effort of compiling the resources resulted in this document.  He visited the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) and other archives and libraries and brought back the copied resources to Okinawa. 

• Title: ZaiBei Okinawa kankei bunsho no shiryō chizu / 在米沖縄関係文書の資料地図
• Compiler: NAKAMOTO, Kazuhiko [仲本和彦]
• URL: https://dl.ndl.go.jp/info:ndljp/pid/11561444 (1,188 pages in PDF) 

This document (1, 188 pages in PDF) enables researcher to see which archives and libraries hold the resources related to Okinawa.  

For those who visit NARA for the first time, the task of finding the specifically Okinawa related resources in NARA's record groups (RG) can be daunting. Mr. Nakamoto's document is an invaluable tool for the primary sources held in NARA and other institutions in North America.

The Table of Content shows that the document is divided into the following sections:

• NARA (National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.)
• Sound Recordings
• Still Pictures
• Cartographic
• Motion Pictures
• NARA Regional Archives (i.e., NARA at San Francisco, Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, etc.)
• Military and University Archives (i.e., MacArthur Memorial Library & Archives, U.S. Army Military History Institute)

本資料の作成経緯

本資料は、仲本和彦氏（沖縄県公文書館指定管理者 公益財団法人 沖縄県文化振興会公文書管理課資料公開班長（2019 年 3 月時点））の約 20 年前の活動の成果物である。仲本氏は当時、米国国立公文書館（The National Archives and Records Administration）を中心とするアーカイブズを対象として、資料目録を確認し、沖縄関係文書の収集を念頭に、文書の所在情報をメモした。在米沖縄関係資料は膨大であるため、資料を一人で確認するのは時間的経済的理由からほぼ不可能であり、再確認は未完である。しかし、同氏が作成したメモは、次の世代のアーキビスト、歴史学者、政治史や国際関係の研究者等が資料を調査し研究する上で、資料の見取り図として有用だと考えられる。資料所在情報の再確認が不十分であることを踏まえた上で、今後の活用の道を開くことは、研究促進の一助となると期待する。 

Related Resources

Nakamoto, Kazuhiko. "US Project Reports 2: non-textual records relating to Okinawa at the US National Archives at College Park, Maryland" in Okinawa Prefectural Archives Bulletin of Study, no.9, p.17-26.