University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content
Banner Image

Maps, Aerial Photographs, and GIS (MAGIS): Aerial Photos & Imagery

Information about the physical and digital collections in Maps, Aerial Photos, and Geographic Information Systems. Also the GIS Lab and GIS data and imagery sources.

Access

To access aerial photographs in printed format, follow the instructions below:

  1. Familiarize yourself with the Printed Aerial Photographs and Imagery collections in the next block.
  2. Specify the geographic extent and the time range you are interested in.
    • This will help us identify flight lines that meet your criteria and pull the most appropriate prints.
  3. Fill out and submit the aerial photo request form.

To access aerial photographs in digital format, follow the instructions under the link below:

Printed Aerial Photographs and Imagery

Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands (TTPI)
More than 10,000 aerial prints of Micronesia with coverage from 1945 to 1976. Received from Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands Archives (Saipan). Collection includes photos of the islands of the former-TTPI, primarily Marshalls, Ponape, Truk, Marianas, Yap, Palau, and Kosrae. These aerials complement the TTPI documents, microfilm, and photographs held by the Pacfic Collection. This collection is being digitized, but not yet available online.Contact us with your request.

World War II Western Pacific
More than 70,000 aerial prints from more than 1,000 flights, most dating from 1942-1949. Received from UCLA. Collection primarily of Indonesia, Papua New Guinea,  Philippines, Solomon Islands, New Hebrides, other parts of South East Asia and the Far East. This collection is being digitized.

 

​USFWS - Pacific
Approximately 1,100 aerial prints, dating from 1970s-1990s. Prints were donated to MAGIS post-flood by Jim Maragos.  Primarily of the Marshall Islands, Chuuk, Yap, Ponape, Guam, and American Samoa.

USGS - HI/PAC
Approximately 4,000-5,000 aerial prints, dating from 1920s-1980s.  Prints were donated to MAGIS post-flood by the local USGS office. Two major components - Hawaii and Pacific Islands. The Hawaii component includes a unique collection of USGS prints (Oahu only) from the 1920s. The Pacific Island component includes prints of Wallis, Marshalls, Ponape, Truk, Marianas, Yap, Palau, American Samoa, and the Solomons.

USGS - SE Oahu
Approximately 1550 aerial prints, dating from 1940-1988. Prints donated to MAGIS post-flood by the local USGS office.  Collection primarily covers southeastern quadrant of Oahu.

Photo Contour maps of Oahu (1969)
Large scale black & white photogrametric maps (1:2,400) with 5' contour intervals. Prepared by R.M. Towill Corp. for the City and County of Honolulu Planning Dept. We own most of the maps in this series.

 

 

 

Digital Aerial Photographs and Imagery

Hawaii Aerials

We have one aerial survey per decade for much of Hawai'i beginning with the early 1950s. Our primary sources include photographs issued by the United States Geological Survey (USGS), United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), and the National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Approximately 10,000 aerial prints, dating from 1950-2000, were lost in flood, and most were replaced in digital format; 500 additional image files were purchased from NOAA after the flood with Hawaiian Collection funding.

To View Aerial Photographs:

  1. Click on the tab of the county in Hawaii Aerial Photograph Flight Lines box below.
  2. Review the "Coverage" column for the general areas covered by the flight lines.
  3. Click on the KMZ link in the "Flight Line #" column to view the path of the flight line in Google Earth or ArcGIS Earth (you need to have Google Earth Desktop or ArcGIS Earth [Windows only] installed on your computer).
  4. You can view or download low resolution (300 dpi) jpeg images for free, by clicking on the metadata popup in Google Earth or by reviewing the images in the "Download Free" column.
  5. For high resolution images:

Service Request Form

What are Aerial Photos Used For?

Aerial photos document the landscape by providing a bird's eye view at a certain point in time. Change analysis is faciliated by comparing aerials taken at various intervals and may be applied to:

  • mapping
  • property disputes
  • environmental analysis
  • coastal change
  • agriculture
  • landuse planning
  • surveillance
  • disaster assessment and response
  • manipulation and analyis in GIS software

Using Aerial Photos

Aerial Photography Scale (UCSB Libraries)

Aerial Photograph Resolution (UCSB Libraries)

Understanding Color Infrared (CIR) Aerial Photography (GeoMart)

Tutorial: Fundamentals of Remote Sensing (Natural Resources Canada)

Beginner's Guide to Landsat GeoCover Satellite Images (Geology.com)
This tutorial will help you appreciate how different types of ground cover are represented on a Landsat GeoCover image.

 

Imagery Galleries

Earth As Art

Landsat Gallery
Imagery showing global change

Global Fiducials Library
A long-term periodic record for selected scientifically important sites.

Hawaii Aerial Photograph Flightlines

Hawaii North West Quadrant

Coverage Year(s) Source Flight Line #1 Download Free
All Hawaii 1954 USGS 017.kmz 300dpi
Kukuihaele, Honokaa, Umikoa, Makahalau 1964-65 USDA 056.kmz 300dpi
Hawi, Honokane, Kamuela, Kawaihae 1964-65 USDA 057.kmz 300dpi
Mahukona, Hawi, Kawaihae, Keawanui Bay 1964-65 USDA 058.kmz 300dpi
Puu Hinai, Anaehoomalu, Makalawaena, Kiholo,Puu Anahulu, Keahole Point, Kailua, Hualalai 1964-65 USDA 059.kmz 300dpi
Puu Hinai, Nohonaohae, Makahalau, Ahumoa, Keamuku, Puu Anahulu, Hualalai, Naohuleelua, Puu Koli 1964-65 USDA 060.kmz 300dpi
Mahukona, Hawi, Honokane, Kukuihaele, Kamuela, Kawaihae, Keawanui Bay, Anaehoomalu, Puu Hinai, Nohonaohae, Makahalau, Ahumoa, Keamuku, Puu Anahulu, Kiholo, Makalawena, Keahole Point, Kailua, Hualalai, Naohuleelua, Puu Koli, Kealakekua, Puu Lehua, Puu O Ou, Kokoolau, Mauna Loa, Sulphur Cone, Kaunene, Honaunau 1976-78 USGS 006.kmz 300dpi
Hawi, Puu Hinai, Kukuihaele 2000 NOAA 003.kmz 300dpi
Mahukona, Keawanui Bay, Kawaihae, Puu Hinai, Anaehoomalu, Kiholo 2000 NOAA 087.kmz 300dpi
Keahole Point, Makalawena, Anaehoomalu, Hawi, Honokane, Kukuihaele 2000 NOAA 091.kmz 300dpi

Hawaii North East Quadrant

Coverage Year(s) Source Flight Line #1 Download Free
All Hawaii 1954 USGS 017.kmz 300dpi
Makahalau, Ahumoa, Puu Koli, Umikoa, Mauna Kea, Puu Ooo, Waikoloa Ponds, Puaakala, Keanakolu 1964-65 USDA 061.kmz 300dpi
Kukaiau, Keanakolu, Puaakala, Waikoloa Ponds, Piihonua, Akaka Falls, Papaaloa, Papaikou, Hilo 1965 USDA 062.kmz 300dpi
Honokaa, Kukaiau, Papaaloa, Keanakolu, Umikoa, Mauna Kea, Puuakala, Akaka Falls, Papaikou, Keaau Ranch, Hilo, Piihonua, Waikoloa Ponds, Puu Oo, Puu Ulaula, Kulani, Puu Makaala, Mountain View, Pahoa North, Kapoho, Pahoa South, Kalalua, Volcano, Kilauea Crater, Kipuku Pakekake, Wood Valley, Kau Desert, Makaopuhi Crater, Kalapana, Naliikakani Point, Pahala 1976-77 USGS 007.kmz 300dpi
Honokaa 2000 NOAA 001.kmz 300dpi
Papaaloa 2000 NOAA 091.kmz 300dpi

Hawaii South West Quadrant

Coverage Year(s) Source Flight Line #1 Download Free
All Hawaii 1954 USGS 017.kmz 300dpi
Kahuku Ranch, Puu O Keokeo, Alika Cone, Sulphur Cone, Mauna Loa, Puu Kinikini, Punaluu, Naalehu, Pahala, Wood Valley, Kipuka Pakekake 1954 USGS 009.kmz 300dpi
Kahuku Ranch, Puu O Keokeo, Alika Cone, Sulphur Cone, Mauna Loa, Puu Kinikini, Punaluu, Naalehu, Pahala, Wood Valley, Kipuka Pakekake 1954 USGS 010.kmz 300dpi
Pahala, Naliikakani Point 1954 USGS 011.kmz 300dpi
Pahala, Naliikakani Point, Kau Desert, Wood Valley, Kipuka Pakekake, Kilauea Crater 1954 USGS 012.kmz 300dpi
Puu Lehua, Kaunene, Puu Pohakuloa, Papa, Puu O Keokeo, Alika Cone, Sulphur Cone, Puu O Uo, Kokoolau, Mauna Loa, Puu Kinikini, Punaluu, Pahala, Wood Valley, Kipuka Pakekake, Puu Ulaula 1954 USGS 013.kmz 300dpi
Puu Pohakuloa, Papa, Pohue Bay, Kahuku Ranch, Puu O Keokeo, Alika Cone, Puu Kinikini, Punaluu, Naalehu 1954 USGS 014.kmz 300dpi
Waikoloa Ponds, Hilo, Mountain View, Puu Makaala, Volcano, Kalalua 1964-65 USDA 065.kmz 300dpi
Puu Koli, Puu Oo, Waikoloa Ponds, Kulani, Puu Ulaula, Kokoolau, Mauna Loa, Kipuku Pakekake, Kilauea Crater 1964-65 USDA 066.kmz 300dpi
Puu Lehua, Puu O Uo, Kokoolau, Mauna Loa, Sulphur Cone, Kaunene, Puu Pohakuloa, Alika Cone, Puu Kinikini 1964-65 USDA 067.kmz 300dpi
Keahole Point, Kailua, Hualalai, Kealakekua, Puu Lehua, Puu O Uo, Sulphur Cone, Kaunene, Honaunau 1964-65 USDA 068.kmz 300dpi
Honaunau, Kaunene, Puu Pohakuloa, Kauluoa Point, Milolii, Papa 1964-65 USDA 069.kmz 300dpi
Puu Pohakuloa, Papa, Pohue Bay, Kahuku Ranch, Puu O Keokeo, Alika Cone 1964-65 USDA 070.kmz 300dpi
Ka Lae, Naalehu, Punaluu, Pahala, Naliikakani Point 1964-65 USDA 074.kmz 300dpi
Manuka Bay, Milolii, Papa, Pohue Bay 1964-65 USDA 076.kmz 300dpi
Papa, Pohue Bay, Puu Hou, K Lae, Kahuku Ranch, Puu O Keokeo, Punaluu, Naalehu 1965 USDA 075.kmz 300dpi
Kealakekua, Honaunau, Kauluoa Point, Milolii, Manuka Bay, Pohue Bay, Papa, Puu Pohakuloa, Kaunene, Puu Lehua, Puu O Uo, Sulphur Cone, Alika Cone, Puu O Keokeo, Kahuku Ranch, Puu Hou, Ka Lae, Naalehu, Punaluu, Puu Kinikini, Mauna Loa, Kokoolau, Puu Ulaula, Kipuka Pakekake, Wood Valley, Pahala 1976-78 USGS 008.kmz 300dpi
Kealakekua, Honaunau 2000 NOAA 002.kmz 300dpi
Honaunau 2000 NOAA 004.kmz 300dpi

Hawaii South East Quadrant

Coverage Year(s) Source Flight Line #1 Download Free
All Hawaii 1954 USGS 017.kmz 300dpi
Piihonua, Hilo, Keaau Ranch, Pahoa North, Mountain View, Puu Makaala 1954, 61 USGS 015.kmz 300dpi
Naliikakani Point, Kau Desert, Kilauea Crater, Volcano, Makaopuhi Crater, Kalapana, Kalalua 1964-65 USDA 072.kmz 300dpi
Papaikou, Hilo, Keaau Ranch, Mountain View, Pahoa North 1965 USDA 063.kmz 300dpi
Hilo, Keaau Ranch, Kapoho, Pahoa North, Mountain View, Kalalua, Pahoa South 1965 USDA 064.kmz 300dpi
Kilauea Crater, Kipuku Pakekake, Mauna Loa, Puu Kinikini, Wood Valley, Kau Desert, Naliikakani Point, Pahala, Punaluu 1965 USDA 071.kmz 300dpi
Kalalua, Pahoa South, Kalapana 1965 USDA 073.kmz 300dpi

1. This number is an internal number and does not correspond to any official metadata.

Kauai

Coverage Year(s) Source Flight Line #1 Download Free
Makaha Point, Kekaha, Hanapepe, Waimea Canyon, Haena, Hanalei, Waialeale, Koloa, Lihue, Kapaa, Anahola 1950-51 USGS 029.kmz 300dpi
Makaha Point, Kekaha, Hanapepe, Waimea Canyon, Haena, Hanalei, Waialeale, Koloa, Lihue, Kapaa, Anahola 1959 USGS 028.kmz 300dpi
Makaha Point, Kekaha, Hanalei, Waialeale, Koloa, Lihue, Kapaa, Anahola 1960 USGS 027.kmz 300dpi
Hanalei, Anahola, Kapaa, Waialeale 1965 USDA 077.kmz 300dpi
Makaha Point, Haena, Waimea Canyon 1965 USDA 078.kmz 300dpi
Kekaha, Waimea Canyon, Hanapepe 1965 USDA 079.kmz 300dpi
Hanapepe, Kapaa, Koloa, Lihue, Waialeale, Waimea Canyon 1965 USDA 080.kmz 300dpi
Makaha Point, Kekaha, Hanapepe, Waimea Canyon, Haena, Hanalei, Waialeale, Koloa, Lihue, Kapaa, Anahola 1976-78 USGS 025.kmz 300dpi
Hanalei, Kapaa, Lihue, Hanapepe, Koloa 2000 NOAA 024.kmz 300dpi
Kekaha, Makaha Point, Haena, Hanalei, Anahola 2000 NOAA 083.kmz 300dpi

Niihau

Coverage Year(s) Source Flight Line #1 Download Free
Entire Island 1965 USDA 081.kmz 300dpi
Halalii Lake, Kalanei, Keanauhi Valley, Honuaula Vallyey 1978 USGS 031.kmz 300dpi
Keanauhi Valley, Halalii Lake 1993 NOAA 030.kmz 300dpi
Halalii Lake, Kalanei 2000 NOAA 089.kmz 300dpi
Halalii Lake, Kalanei, Keanauhi Valley, Honuaula Vallyey 2000 NOAA 090.kmz 300dpi

1. This number is an internal number and does not correspond to any official metadata.

Kahoolawe

Coverage Year(s) Source Flight Line #1 Download Free
Entire Island 1952 USGS 038.kmz 300dpi
Entire Island 2000 NOAA 037.kmz 300dpi
Entire Island 1976-77 USGS 035.kmz 300dpi

Lanai

Coverage Year(s) Source Flight Line #1 Download Free
Entire Island 1952 USGS 040.kmz 300dpi
Entire Island 1965 USDA 055.kmz 300dpi
Entire Island 1976-77 USGS 035.kmz 300dpi
Entire Island 2000 NOAA 084.kmz 300dpi

Maui

Coverage Year(s) Source Flight Line #1 Download Free
Entire Island 1950-1951 USGS 036.kmz 300dpi
Keanae, Nahiku, Kaupo, Kipahulu, Hana 1965-66 USDA 049.kmz 300dpi
Wailuku, Maalaea, Puu O Kali, Paia, Haiku, Kilohana 1965 USDA 050.kmz 300dpi
Napili, Lahaina, Olowalu, Maalaea, Wailuku, Kahakuloa 1965 USDA 051.kmz 300dpi
Puu O Kali, Makena, Lualailua Hills, Kilohana 1965 USDA 052.kmz 300dpi
Wailuku, Paia, Haiku, Keanae, Hana, Nahiku, Kilohana, Puu O Kali, Maalaea, Makena, Lualailua Hills, Kaupo, Kipahulu 1976-78 USGS 034.kmz 300dpi
Napili, Lahaina, Olowalu, Maalaea, Wailuku, Kahakuloa 1976-77 USGS 035.kmz 300dpi
Paia, Puu O Kali, Makena 2000 NOAA 032.kmz 300dpi
Lahaina, Wailuku, Maalaea 2000 NOAA 033.kmz 300dpi
Kipahulu, Kaupo, Lualailua Hills, Makena, Maalaea, Olowalu, Lahaina, Napili, Paia, Haiku, Keanae 2000 NOAA 085.kmz 300dpi

Molokai

Coverage Year(s) Source Flight Line #1 Download Free
Entire Island 1949-50 USGS 044.kmz 300dpi
Entire Island 1977 USGS 043.kmz 300dpi
Kaunakakai, Kamalo, Halawa 1964-65 USDA 053.kmz 300dpi
Ilio Point, Molokai Airport, Kaunakakai 1964-65 USDA 054.kmz 300dpi
Ilio Point, Kaunakakai, Halawa 2000 NOAA 042.kmz 300dpi
Entire Island 2000 NOAA 088.kmz 300dpi

1. This number is an internal number and does not correspond to any official metadata.

Honolulu

Coverage Year(s) Source Flight Line #1 Download Free
Kahuku, Kahana, Mokapu, Koko Head, Pearl Harbor, Waipahu, Haleiwa, Kaena, Waianae, Ewa 1951 USGS 023.kmz 300dpi
Waimea, Haleiwa, Schofield Barracks, Ewa, Pearl Harbor, Waipahu, Hauula, Honolulu, Koko Head, Mokapu 1951-52 USGS 022.kmz 300dpi
Kahana, Waipahu, Kaneohe, Mokapu, Pearl Harbor, Honolulu, Koko Head 1959 USGS 082.kmz 300dpi
Hauula, Kahana, Mokapu, Kaneohe, Waipahu, Pearl Harbor, Honolulu, Koko Head 1962, 63, 65 USDA 048.kmz 300dpi
Waimea, Kahuku, Hauula, Haleiwa, Kaena, Waianae, Scholfield Barracks, Waipahu 1962-65 USDA 046.kmz 300dpi
Kaena, Haleiwa, Hauula, Waipahu, Schofield Barracks, Waianae, Ewa, Pearl Harbor 1962, 65 USDA 047.kmz 300dpi
Kahuku, Kahana, Hauula, Waipahu, Kaneohe, Mokapu 1962, 63, 65 USDA 045.kmz 300dpi
Waipahu, Kaneohe, Mokapu, Koko Head, Honolulu, Pearl Harbor 1968 USGS 021.kmz 300dpi
Waimea, Kahuku, Kaena, Haleiwa, Hauula, Kahana, Mokapu, Kaneohe, Waipahu, Schofield Barracks, Waianae, Ewa, Pearl Harbor, Honolulu, Koko Head 1976-78 USGS 020.kmz 300dpi
Waimea, Kahuku, Kaena, Haleiwa, Hauula, Kahana, Mokapu, Kaneohe, Schofield Barracks, Waianae, Ewa, Pearl Harbor, Honolulu, Koko Head 1993 NOAA 019.kmz 300dpi
Waimea, Kahuku, Kaena, Haleiwa, Hauula, Kahana, Mokapu, Kaneohe, Waipahu, Schofield Barracks, Waianae, Ewa, Pearl Harbor, Honolulu, Koko Head 2000 NOAA 018.kmz 300dpi

1. This number is an internal number and does not correspond to any official metadata.

Georeferenced Hawaii Aerials

Coverage Year(s) Source Flight Line #1
Various Areas, Hawaii Various USGS, USDA 086.kmz

1. This number is an internal number and does not correspond to any official metadata.

Loading