The Map Collection is located adjacent to Government Documents on the ground floor of Hamilton Library. The collection focuses on Hawai`i, Asia, and the Pacific.
It is a closed collection -- MAGIS staff will help you identify and retrieve maps for your use in the Library (maps cannot be charged out). And, we have many maps in our collection that are not in the Library Catalog, so please allow us to assist you in finding maps to meet your needs.
The University of Hawaii Library is a Federal Regional Depository.
We aspire to provide comprehensive coverage of the state of Hawaiʻi. In addition to contemporary maps, we have a large collection of Hawaiʻi historical maps.
If you do not find what you need in our digital and map collections, see the LibGuide Map Collections in Hawaiʻi and Online Collections of Hawaiʻi Maps.
See also: Hawaii Topographical Maps.
Hawaiʻi Historical Maps, 1885-1904
State of Hawaiʻi Land Survey Map Search
State Land Survey Miscellaneous Maps
State Land Survey Honolulu Historical Maps
Maui, Hawaiian islands. Primary triangulation by W.D. Alexander and S.E. Bishop ; topography and boundaries by W.D. Alexander, C.J. Lyons, M.D. Monsarrat, ...[et al.] ; map by F.S. Dodge. Hawaiian Government Survey, 1885.
Dakin Fire Insurance Maps
Hawaiian Land Divisions (Island Breath)
Kipuka Database - Office of Hawaiian Affairs (OHA)
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (1914-1957)
Sugar Mill and Cannery Map of the Territory of Hawaii (fire insurance maps)
Historical Maps of other places:
Old Maps Online
About Topographic Maps (Geomart) how to read a topo, map scales, symbols.
USGS Topo apps are now available for Android and iPhone.
USGS topos are now being updated in digital format only.
MAGIS houses a collection of print USGS topographic maps at scales of 1:24,000, 1:100,000, and 1:250,000. All editions for Hawaii and current editions for other states are retained.
USGS has updated all Hawaii 1:24,000 quads this year.
View and download digitized Hawaii Topographic Quadrangles (1910s - 1990s)
Pacific Islands Topographic Maps (Perry-Castañeda Library)
To find out what editions of a quad were published, search the US Topo and Historical Map database.
USGS Map Locator
For some countries, these are the only maps available.
Joint Operations Graphic (JOG)
Worldwide coverage at a scale of 1:250,000 topographical/aeronautical. Many digitized JOGs are online.
Army Map Service (AMS) Series
The U.S. Army Mapping Service (AMS) sets were produced during World War II and cover most of Europe, North Africa, East and South Asia, and Pacific Islands. The scales vary from 1:250,000, 1:50,000, and 1:25,000. Consult library staff for assistance with this collection. AMS Catalog search form (click on Edit and add country name to focus search results). Please fill out and submit a service request form so we can retrieve the maps from our collection.
Digital AMS Series Online
Numerous AMS series (good coverage of Asia and Western Pacific)
Univ. of Texas Libraries
Numerous AMS series
Univ. of Florida George A Smathers Libraries/Digital Collections
China 1:250,000 (primarily southeast China)
Series L500, U.S. Army Map Service, c. 1950
International Map of the World 1:1,000,000
Univ. of Texas Libraries
Indexes to other AMS series:
Earth Sciences & Map Library(Univ. of California, Berkeley)
College of Asia & Pacific Topographic Map Series Index (Australia National University)
Although this list only has a few AMS series, it includes several other topo series. Index images indicate their holdings, not ours.
We have a collection of country, U.S. state, city, and recreational maps. We also have DeLorme Street Atlases for western states. These maps are not cataloged.
National Geographic Maps
We have a large collection of map supplements published in concert with National Geographic Magazine. Subjects range from physical/political maps of countries and world regions to world languages, bird migration, and earthquakes. These maps may be identified by using this library catalog search and adding your topic or place of interest to the second keyword search box.
Geological Maps are published by the Federal Government (USGS), state geological surveys, and professional societies. The USGS publishes geological maps of all states and many countries. Good sources for identifying published geological maps are GeoRef and the National Geologic Map Database. Once you have identified a map of interest, search the online library catalog to determine if the Library owns a print copy and to find the location and call no. Many state geological surveys have maps available for download on their websites at no charge.
Oil & Gas Maps
The Perry Casteñada Library at the Univ. of Texas has scanned and posted many oil and gas maps online. The map collection also has print maps, a number of which are not available online due to copyright restrictions.
Nautical charts provide information about oceans, coasts, and harbors.
Our extensive print collection covers waters of the World as well as the United States. Please consult with Library staff. We retain historical charts for Hawaii and the Pacific islands.
Digital copies are also available:
Historical Charts for the U.S. and territories/possessions. Results include bathymetric, base, gravity, magnetic, and other cartographic maps published by NOAA.
Regions available online: North America; Western Africa, Mediterranean, Black Sea; Eastern Asia, South Eastern Russia, Philippines. We have fairly complete print holdings of all published charts. The University of Oregon Libraries has created an index to identify current nautical charts for your area of interest as well as instructions on reading the index images.
Learn more about Nautical Charts
Tactical Pilotage Chart (TPC)
The TPC is the standard worldwide medium-scale aeronautical chart series (1:500,000). TPCs provide essential cartographic data appropriate to scale, and are overprinted with stable aeronautical information such as contour lines, obstructions, special use air-space, navigational aids, and related data. Many digitized TPCs are available for viewing in the Perry Castenada Map Collection (use clickable maps).
Operational Navigation Chart (ONC)
The ONC is the standard worldwide small- scale (1:1,000,000) aeronautical chart series, and contains cartographic data with an aeronautical overprint depicting obstructions, aerodromes, special use airspace, navigational aides, Maximum Elevation Figures (MEFs), and related data.
Indexes to TPCs and ONCs (Geomart)
Jet Navigation Chart (JNG)
Very small scale (1:2,000,000). Relief shown by contours, shading, tints, and spot heights. Includes terrain characteristic and water tints diagrams and index to JNC series.
The University of Hawaii at Manoa Library holds a large collection maps, with emphasis on Hawaii, Asia, and the Pacific. The Library is in the process of scanning and making the maps available online in various forms. We have made many of the most frequently requested maps available on the library's institutional repository (eVols). This site is in development.
The best index to digitized maps on the Internet is the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection.
It is organized geographically and is very well maintained.
Australia Geoscience (National government)
East Asia Maps in the Bruman Collection (UCLA Library)
More than 500 historical maps of China, Japan, Korea, and Manchuria.
Japan Geography Links (Harvard Univ.)
A collection of links to selected map and GIS sites.
Options for obtaining a very basic country or state map.
Maps on File (print in MAPS REF)
Copyright free looseleaf sheets to copy or scan.
Free outline maps.
National Geographic MapMaker
Easy to create pagemaps for countries, world regions, or states showing cities, rivers, and lakes.
Several types of map for select countries. The CIA World Factbook includes basic maps in country profiles.These U.S. government documents are copyright-free.
The National Atlas has several printable maps for each U.S. state.
UH Libraries subscribes to Maps.com online. Go to the library catalog and search your country or state name and add maps.com to locate these. To download a map, you must first set up a personal ebrary account. Maps of U.S. states include county boundaries.
Perry-Castenada Library has many more links to map websites of this nature.
Bookstores in Hawaii:
Pacific Map Center (Waipahu)
Carries topographic maps, navigation charts and books, street maps, wall maps, and cartographic tools.
The UH Manoa Bookstore has selected maps and road atlases, primarily for the Hawaiian Islands.
Basically Books in Hilo carries a broad selection of maps and charts.
An extensive list of map dealer can be found at the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection website (http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/map_dealers.html).