Nā Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi - Hawaiʻi - Hawaiian Language Research - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Introduction: Newspapers in ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi

Image from: http://cinemapasifika.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/dad-reading-hawaiian-newspaper.jpg

The Hawaiian Language newspapers, nā nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi, are an immensely rich resource for those studying Hawaiian language sources. Spanning over a hundred years, readers get an understanding for the different styles and forms written Hawaiian may take. Newspapers were not only a site for news, but also chants, laments, announcements, letter from readers both in Hawai'ʻi and abroad; intellectual debates, moʻolelo, and so much more.

Access Nā Nūpepa

Hawaiian Language Newspapers at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, Hamilton Library
To get a list of nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi in Hamilton library, do key word search on Hawaiian Language Newspapers and sort by the oldest.
Hoʻolaupaʻi: Hawaiian Nūpepa Collection
First collection of digitized Hawaiian-language newspapers published between 1834 and 1948. Newspaper images can be retrieved by title or date. Some newspapers are searchable by keyword if have typescripts.
Newspapers in Hawaiʻi
LibGuide created by Dore Minatodani as a broad introduction to newspapers in Hawaiʻi.
Reference tools and research for Hawaiian language newspapers
Links to references and indexes to help search nā Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi.

Papakilo Database
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs' (OHA's) Papakilo Database, is the ongoing development of a cutting edge and comprehensive "Database of Databases" consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai`i's history.
This online repository of data will greatly increase OHA's ability to preserve and perpetuate cultural and historical information and practices, thus providing an invaluable resource to educate other regulatory agencies, OHA's Native Hawaiian beneficiaries, and the general public. NOTE: Free registration required to access the database.

Sample Image of Hawaiian Language Newspaper

About Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi

Background and historical significance of KA NUPEPA KUOKOA by Joan Hori
Publication Date: 2001
Web article written by former Hawaiian collection curator, Joan Hori.
Kukini ʻahaʻilono = Carry on the news : over a century of native Hawaiian life and thought from the Hawaiian language newspapers of 1834 to 1948 published in honor of the Bicentennial by Rubellite Kinney Johnson (editor)
Call Number: DU620.3 .J64
Publication Date: 1976
Shaping history : the role of newspapers in Hawaiʻi by Helen G. Chapin
Call Number: PN4897 .H33 C48 1996
ISBN: 0824817184
Publication Date: 1996
Provides an overview, and details, about the importance of newspapers in Hawaiʻi. This book covers almost 200 years worth of history.
Hawaiian Language Newspapers in Hamilton Library, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa by Ruth H. Horie
Call Number: Z7112 .H38 H67 1995
Publication Date: 1995

Hawaiʻi - Hawaiian Language Research: Nā Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi

Introduction: Newspapers in ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi

Access Nā Nūpepa

Sample Image of Hawaiian Language Newspaper

About Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi