Reference Sources - Hawaiʻi - Hawaiian Language Research - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Grammar

A sample of hard copy Hawaiian language grammar books

Introduction to Hawaiian Grammar by W. D. Alexander
Call Number: PL6443 .A5 2004

ISBN: 048643432X

Publication Date: 2004-01-16
Hawaiian Language Fundamentals by Hokulani Cleeland
Call Number: PL6443 .C54 2006

ISBN: 0873361059

Publication Date: 2007-01-01
A short elementary grammar of the Owhihe language : attributed to Henry Obookiah by Henry Obookiah
Call Number: PL6445 .O16 1993

Publication Date: 1993

Searching ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi Materials at UH

A convenient way to identify Hawaiian language materials in our catalog is to search by Subject Headings. Examples of such searches are listed below.

Dictionaries and grammar
Hawaiian language--Dictionaries--English
Hawaiian language--Conversation and phrase books
Hawaiian language--Terms and phrases
Hawaiian language--Glossaries, vocabularies, etc.
Hawaiian language--Grammar

Study and teaching

Hawaiian language--Study and teaching

Hawaiian language--Pronunciation

Literature

Hawaiian language--Texts

Hawaiian language--Readers
Hawaiian language--Readers--Legends

Hawaiian language--Juvenile literature

Hawaiian language--Periodicals

Hawaiian language--Bibliography

Place Names

A sample of books related to Hawaiʻi place names

Place Names of Hawaii by Mary Kawena Pukui, Samuel H. Elbert, Esther T. Mookini
Call Number: DU622 .P79 1976

Publication Date: 1976

Available online from Ulukau.
Index of winds by Genie Alvarado
Call Number: PL6449 .A49 2005

Publication Date: 2005

Available online (PDF) by name and by island.
Ka Makani : mai ka puke wehewehe ʻōlelo ʻo Hawaiian dictionary, e Samuel Elbert a me Mary Kawena Pukui, Honolulu 1971, University of Hawaii Press by Rose, Kati Loke.; Pukui, Mary Kawena
Call Number: PL6449 .M34

Publication Date: 1980

Available online.
Ka Ua : mai ka puke wehewehe ʻōlelo ʻo Hawaiian dictionary, e Samuel Elbert a me Mary Kawena Pukui, Honolulu 1971, University of Hawaii Press by Rose, Kati Loke.; Pukui, Mary Kawena
Call Number: PL6449 .U3

Publication Date: 1980

Available online.
ʻŌlelo Noʻeau: Hawaiian Proverbs & Poetical Sayings by Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PN6519.H4 P84 1983

ISBN: 0910240922

Publication Date: 1983

Searchable online through HathiTrust.
You must be logged in to HathiTrust - click the yellow “LOG IN” button on a HathiTrust page, select “University of Hawaii” and log in using your UH login credentials.

Dictionaries

A sample of dictionaries in hard copy

Hawaiian Dictionary by Lorrin Andrews; Noenoe K. Silva (Introduction by); Albert J. Schutz (Introduction by)
Call Number: PL6446 .A56 2003

ISBN: 0896103749

Publication Date: 2003-06-01
Mamaka Kaiao by Komike Hua'olelo; Hale Kuamoo; Aha Paunana Leo
Call Number: PL6446 .M36 2003

ISBN: 0824827864

Publication Date: 2003-01-01

Also available online (UHM login required).
Hawaiian dictionary : Hawaiian-English, English-Hawaiian by Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: PL6446 .P795 1991

ISBN: 9780824807030

Publication Date: 1986, 1991

Rev. and enlarged ed., with corrections. As of 2025, this is the edition in common use. ISBN and copyright year are the same as the 1986 ed. Can be distinguished from the 1986 ed. by checking the Preface, dated 1991. Also available online (UHM login required).

Pukui Elbert Dictionaries

Hawaiian-English dictionary by Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: PL6446 .P8

Publication Date: 1957

1st ed. Also available online (UHM login required).
Hawaiian-English dictionary by Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Samuel H. Elbert
Publication Date: 1961

2nd ed. Not held at any UH library.
English-Hawaiian dictionary by Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: PL6446 .P79

Publication Date: 1964

1st ed. Also available online (UHM login required).
Hawaiian-English dictionary by Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: PL6446 .P8 1965

Publication Date: 1965

3rd ed. Also available online (UHM login required).
Place names of Hawaii and Supplement to the third edition of the Hawaiian-English dictionary by Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: DU622 .P8

Publication Date: 1966

Supplement to 3rd ed. Also available online (UHM login required).
Hawaiian dictionary : Hawaiian-English, English-Hawaiian by Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: PL6446 .P78

ISBN: 9780870226625

Publication Date: 1971

1st ed. consolidating Hawaiian-English (1966) and English-Hawaiian (1964). Dictionary entries new to the 1966 ed. are listed in a supplemental section. Includes glossary of Hawaiian gods. Also available online (UHM login required).
Hawaiian grammar by Elbert, Samuel H., and Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PL6443 .E37 1979

ISBN: 9780824824891

Publication Date: 1979

Also available online (UHM login required).
Hawaiian dictionary : Hawaiian-English, English-Hawaiian by Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: PL6446 .P795 1986

ISBN: 9780824807030

Publication Date: 1986

Rev. and enlarged ed.
Hawaiian dictionary : Hawaiian-English, English-Hawaiian by Pukui, Mary Kawena, and Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: PL6446 .P795 1991

ISBN: 9780824807030

Publication Date: 1986, 1991

Rev. and enlarged ed., with corrections. As of 2025, this is the edition in common use. ISBN and copyright year are the same as the 1986 ed. Can be distinguished from the 1986 ed. by checking the Preface, dated 1991. Also available online (UHM login required).

Hawaiʻi - Hawaiian Language Research: Reference Sources

Grammar

Searching ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi Materials at UH

Place Names

Dictionaries

Pukui Elbert Dictionaries