UHM Library Hawaiian Collection digital images. "Photographs in Connection with the Investigation of Working Conditions of Filipino Laborers on Hawaiian Sugar Plantations, 1926," by Lt. Colonel Robert A. Duckworth-Ford, Aide-de-Camp to Governor-General of the Philippines Leonard Wood. This collection is from Alex Ford of California, grandson of Lt. Colonel Duckworth-Ford. Titles are taken from typed captions present on each photograph.
UHM Library Hawaiian Collection digital images. The images and text in this site were produced and gathered by Lisa Schattenburg-Raymond, and issued in 1983 as A Pictorial Illustration of Hawaiian Kalo Varieties at Lyon Arboretum, With Descriptions from Taro Varieties in Hawaii.
Collection of digitized phonograph recordings from Hawaiian music collectors, Vogel and Cathro spaning the early-mid 1900s. Approximately 20,000 total phonodiscs and 2000 recordings in other formats such as cassette tape and reel-to-reel tape.
UHM Library Hawaiian Collection digital images. A collection of black and white photographs of scenic sites and identifiable landmarks in Hawaii. Images are from a variety of albums and scrapbooks acquired by or donated to the Hawaiian Collection.
Dr. Jack A. Tobin (1920-2010) first went to the Marshall Islands in 1950 as a student of Dr. Len Mason, to work on the Pacific Science Board's Coral Atoll Project (CAP) -- an initiative meant to study the needs of atoll dwellers with limited resources and growing populations. Arno Atoll was chosen as the first CAP research site, and the first 225 photos in this online collection derive from Dr. Tobin's time there. Later in 1950, Tobin was hired as an anthropological field consultant by the Civil Administration Unit of Naval Operations. Dr. Tobin extensively documented his time in Micronesia, both in written and photographic form. The photos in this collection date from 1950 through 1985, with the majority taken between 1950 and 1972. These images include not only the Marshalls, but also various atolls and islands throughout what was then the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands. In addition to his own photographs, Dr. Tobin also amassed a large collection of military images, most of which deal with issues surrounding nuclear testing in the Marshall Islands.
The United States conducted more than eighty nuclear weapons tests on and around Bikini and Enewetak Atolls between 1946 and 1958. The slides in this collection derive from the anthropological fieldwork of Dr. Leonard “Len” Mason and Dr. Robert Kiste, both of whom served as longtime faculty members at the University of Hawaii-Manoa prior to their retirement. The early images in this collection document the lives of Bikinians after they were relocated first to Rongerik Atoll in 1946 and later to Kwajalein (1948), Kili and Jaluit (1949). These early photos were all taken by Len Mason, who returned in 1957 to do further work on Kili and Jaluit.
The images contained in this online collection are digital reproductions of materials in several distinct art and photograph collections, covering a range of geographic regions and time periods. Taken as a whole, these collections document many facets of life in the Pacific during World War II, from the brutal and the tragic to the mundane.
Nearly 6,500 images. The majority are from the Solomon Islands, but collection also includes images from throughout the Pacific, including the Cook Islands, Fiji, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Tuvalu, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, and Vanuatu. Photos date from the 1930s through 1990s.
The Bishop Museum Archives holds the largest assemblage of images of Hawaiʻi and the Pacific in the world, a collection of over one million images, ranging from personal snapshots to scientific specimens.
Enter your search term/s (examples: HAWAII, SAMOA) in the search box. For the fullest search scope, leave the scope option to "Everything." When the search results appear, use the left-hand column to refine your search results.
The majority of the photographs on this site were taken in the 1920s and 1930s, not long after the City and County was formed, and well before the islands were enacted into statehood. Additional information about the photos can be found here.