Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hawaiian Mission Houses
Hawaiian Mission Houses Digital Archives
The HMH digital archives are a rich source of primary source documents related to Hawai'i and the Pacific. Along with missionary correspondence and photographs, there is a collection of Ali'i Letters, which have been translated and digitized. (To view translations, click on images of original letters to open large-scale view; this view includes translation.) Note: The HMH digital archives are also searchable via the Papakilo Database, which also allows searching of the Hawaii State Archives digital collections and various others.
The Papakilo Database
The Papakilo Database
The Papakilo Database provides access to a wide array of material related to Hawaiian history. In addition to materials it houses directly, it also allows for searching across a variety of other databases, including the Hawaiian Mission Houses Ali'i Letters Collection, the Hawai'i State Archives collections, the Hula Preservation Society and more.
There are many institutions with digital repositories where you can find a wealth of Pacific research content. These repositories are full-text searchable, so a good strategy is to do multiple searches with different combinations of keywords.
A digital institutional repository of the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa (UHM), and managed by the UHM Library. Scholarspace contains material produced by UH-Manoa affiliates (students/faculty/staff) as well as material produced by the East-West Center (a federally funded agency located on the UH-Manoa campus).
A digital repository managed by the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library, containing digital material produced from sources outside the UH-Manoa research community.
DigitalNZ = Ā-Tihi O Aotearoa
A New Zealand digital repository managed by the National Library of New Zealand that brings together content from multiple institutions.
This "search aggregator" allows users to search the holdings of multiple institutions in Hawaii, the Pacific and elsewhere for online, open-access materials.
Trove is an Australian digital repository managed by the National Library of Australia that brings together content from multiple institutions.
The digital repository managed by the Bilbiothèque nationale de France (the French National Library). Material mostly in French and related to the French affiliated Pacific.
Digitized from the full published holdings of major libraries across the United States and abroad. Includes a good selection of Hawaiʻi and Pacific titles. Allows you to search within the text of many of the books, but only books published before 1923 will be available online in full. Books published before 1923 are in the public domain.
Hawaii State Archives
Hawaii State Archives Digital Collections
The Hawaii State Archives hold records from every government in Hawai'i's history, beginning with the reign of Kamehameha III. The HSA's online collections include a wide assortment of primary documents, including early passenger manifests, land records, lists of government office holders, photographs and more.