This is the "Books" page of the "Pacific Studies 108: Pacific Worlds" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us Library Catalog Research Tools University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

Pacific Studies 108: Pacific Worlds   Tags: pacific  

An introduction to Pacific Studies
Last Updated: Jan 31, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/108sum Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Books using Voyager

Voyager

  • Voyager should be your first stop whenever beginning a new research project. It holds the record for every item (books, journals, newspapers, microfilms, videos, audio recordings, manuscript collections and etc.) in every library in the UH system, from Hilo to Kauai. While Voyager allows for many complex searches, on the most basic level what it is doing is allowing you to search for materials by title, author and subject. It does NOT generally allow you to search for the titles of articles within journals or the titles / authors of chapters within books (there are other strategies for these kinds of searches ... see below). There are occasional exceptions to this rule -- some book contents are listed in Voyager records; some journal articles have been cataloged separately in Voyager by title -- but as a rule of thumb when starting your research, assume that you are going to be searching for title, author or subject.
  • Before you start searching, it's a good idea to log into the Voyager system, which you can do by clicking on the "Login to your account" link in the upper right hand of the Voyager search screen. This will not only save you a step when you begin requesting books, but also allows you to save your search results for future reference -- very useful when it comes time to cite your references in a paper. Use the "Add to My List" button to save search results, which will then appear when you click the "My List" tab at the top of any Voyager screen.
  • The simplest way to begin searching is via a keyword search. In the "Basic" mode, simply type some words that you think might describe your needs (for instance, Samoans Hawaii) and hit search. This will give you a broad sampling of materials, some of which should be related to your topic. When you find something that is of interest, look at the "Subjects" field -- you can click on these links to find other materials that are on the same topic.
 

Finding books in Google Books

Google Books

  • Google Books can at times be a useful tool for searching within the contents of books: It searches the full text of books that have been scanned by Google. If a book is out of copyright or if Google has made arrangements with a copyrighted book's publisher, you will often be able to look at full-text on screen. In other cases, you will be able to see a small "snippet" of the text.
  • When full text is not available online (or even if it is, but you prefer to read the printed version), keep in mind that virtually all of the books you find on Google Books will be available in print in the UH library. So you can also use Google Books as a supplement to our Voyager catalog: Search the contents of the books using Google, then search Voyager for the title.
 

Pacific reference books

For Hawaiian and Pacific research, all of the same tools exist as for any other kind of research. There are region- and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, histories, newspapers, academic journals and etc. Two very good starting points for general information:

Cover Art
The Pacific Islands - Brij V. Lal; Kate Fortune
Call Number: DU17 .P3 2000
ISBN: 082482265X
Publication Date: 2000
A very good source for a wide variety of information on all aspects of life in the Pacific, from pre-contact to present day. See pages 106-188 for an overview of the Pacific diaspora.

The Far East and Australasia
Call Number: DS502 .F37
Publication Date: 2011
Annual publication with detailed overview information (history, geography, population and economic statistics) for every country in the Pacific, including U.S. affiliated (Hawaii, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands and American Samoa). This can be a useful resource when researching conditions in the country of origin for Pacific Islanders living in Hawaii. Most recent editions are located in the 1st floor reference section and in the Asia reference collection on the 4th floor, as well as in Hawaiian and Pacific Collections reference shelves.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip