Research Guides: Climatological Data: Hawai‘i and Pacific: Internet resources

About

This set of pages describes how to find current and historical climatological data for the Hawaiian Islands and the Pacific area. Data includes temperature and rainfall.

Waterspout near Honolulu Harbor (Photo: G. Sinclair)

2021 Webinar on Climate Data

Free internet resources

Note: some resources from the U.S. Department of Commerce are free only to persons connected through the .edu domain.

Hawai‘i Climate Data Portal
This site, hosted by the University of Hawai‘i at Manoa, "provides streamlined access to high-quality reliable climate data and information for the State of Hawai‘i. This includes the production of both near-real-time monthly rainfall and daily temperature maps and a user-friendly tool to visualize and download them."
Rainfall atlas of Hawaii
Produced by the Geography Department at the University of Hawaii at Manoa.
Climatological Data Publications
The National Climatic Data Center of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration provides free access to current and historical climate data such as maximum and minimum temperatures, daily rainfall, and prevailing winds. Data is available for Hawai`i from 1905 to the present. Coverage for the Pacific area varies.
more...less...
***IMPORTANT: YOU MUST CONNECT TO THIS SITE FROM A COMPUTER THAT REGISTERS A HAWAII.EDU DOMAIN TO GET FREE ACCESS. IF YOU CONNECT THROUGH A NON-HAWAII.EDU INTERNET SERVICE PROVIDER, YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO ACCESS THE FREE CONTENT.***
Climatological data, Hawaii and Pacific
HathiTrust has many of the climatological publications listing annual rainfall, temperature, etc. from the early 20th century to the present.
Weekly weather and crop bulletin
Weekly temperature and rainfall with an overview of weather related to crop production, spraying, and other agricultural activities. Data from 1971-present.
Met Office Hadley Centre
The Hadley Centre offers datasets for scientific research. Data includes sea surface temperature, precipitation, and temperature.
World Meteorological Organization
The WMO is a gateway to climatic data from a variety of national data centers.
U.S. Global Change Research Program
Official U.S. government gateway for climate change information. Datasets include Federal climate data resources as well as select datasets associated with the Third National Climate Assessment.
U.S. Hourly Precipitation Data
Data for Hawai`i and the U.S. Pacific Islands goes back to 1965.
Integrated Surface Global Hourly Data
The Integrated Surface Data (ISD) database is composed of worldwide surface weather observations from over 20,000 stations, collected and stored from sources such as the Automated Weather Network (AWN), the Global Telecommunications System (GTS), the Automated Surface Observing System (ASOS), and data keyed from paper forms.

Videos and Webinars

NCDC: The world's largest climate data archive
Join staff from the National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) to learn about some of the Center’s principal resources, projects, data sets, publications, and more.
A Guided Tour of NOAA Climate.gov — Three Portals in One
NOAA's Climate.gov is an online source of timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate. This webinar demonstrates the scientific data and teaching resources available.

Subject Guide

Gwen Sinclair

Email Me

Contact:

2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu HI 96822

808-956-2549

Subjects: Government Documents