This is the "Home" page of the "Newspapers in Hawaii" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us Library Catalog Research Tools University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

Newspapers in Hawaii   Tags: hawaii, media, newspapers  

Last Updated: Jan 16, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/hawaiinewspapers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Most Frequently Used

  • Honolulu Star-Advertiser
    Licensed for UHM use only. Via Proquest. Dates covered: June 2010 through one day before current issue.
  • Chronicling America
    Access to 255 English language newspapers from throughout the U.S., covering 1860-1922, including 22 from Hawaiʻi. New titles and content added continuously.
  • Ho'olaupa'i Hawaiian Nupepa Collection
    Full-text Hawaiian language newspapers 1834-1948. (Not all issues have been converted to text; those remain as images so the text can be seen but not be searched.)
  • Bob Krauss Research Index
    Search for newspaper articles here (various English-language papers from Hawaiʻi, covering ca. 1840-1990s).
 

Overview

In Hawaiʻi, 1,250 newspaper titles were published between 1834 and 2000.

Today, we have online access to:

  • 47 Hawaiian language newspapers (via the Hoʻolaupaʻi project)

  • 16 English language newspapers (via NDNP/Chronicling America)

Where did the rest of these 1,191 newspapers go and how do you get access to them?

 

Use This Guide To Find ...

Use the tabs across the top of this guide to find:

Print and Microfilm
Most newspaper content that survives today exists on microfilm and to a lesser extent in paper.

Online
Historical newspapers: A few newspaper titles have been converted to digital format.
Current newspapers: The daily newspapers from the main islands offer some of their content online.

Content Indexes
Some newspapers online offer full-text searching. Where that is not available, indexes are essential. Use this page to find newspaper articles.

Title Indexes
With well over a thousand newspaper titles published in Hawaiʻi over time, finding just the right newspaper to use can be a challenge. Use these indexes to find newspapers, or to find out more about a newspaper you are using. Want to know what the editorial stance of a paper is or was? Check these indexes.

 

Need Help?

This page was created by the librarians at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library's Hawaiian Collection. Contact us if you need assistance.

Dore Minatodani
dorem@hawaii.edu

Jodie Mattos
jodie@hawaii.edu

Hawaiian and Pacific Collections
Hamilton Library
University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu, HI 96822
(808) 956-8264
hawnpac@hawaii.edu

 

mahalo!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip