This is the "Home" page of the "Oral Histories at UHM Library's Hawaiian Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
chat, email, telephone library research tools library catalog login my account

Oral Histories at UHM Library's Hawaiian Collection   Tags: hawaii, history, interviews, oral history, personal accounts  

Last Updated: Jan 11, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/hawaiioralhistories Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hours

The Hawaiian and Pacific Collections on the 5th Floor will be closed May 11 through approximately mid-July. We will have a small reference collection and reference service at Government Documents, starting May 28. Click here for more information.


Hawaiian and Pacific Collections
at Government Documents

Reading Room and Reference Desk
Monday-Friday, 9:00am-5:00pm

Above hours start on May 28. H&P will be completely closed at both locations May 11-May 27.


All Library Hours

 

General Information

The information in this guide is intended to help you find and use oral history transcripts held at the Hawaiian Collection at UHM Library.

Transcripts

After oral history interviews are conducted, the recordings are transcribed and reviewed by the interviewer and interviewee. After corrections are made, the transcript then becomes the version of the oral history approved for use by researchers. The transcript, then, is the form of the oral history that you get to use.

Recordings

The recordings of the interviews typically are kept at the project's home institution. Access may be restricted, but typically they are available for use upon request. Researchers may be asked or required to have reviewed the transcript prior to use of the recordings. At our library you will find sound recordings and videorecordings of oral histories and interviews.

Where To Find Them

Transcripts will be found at the Hawaiian Collection and/or the general Hamilton Library collections, and in some cases in other specialized collections. Note the Hawaiian Collection's and general library hours (see box at left).

Recordings will be found at the Sinclair Audiovisual Center. Their hours can be found in the general library hours page.

 

Oral History as a Research Method

Catching Stories, A Practical Guide to Oral History - Donna M. DeBlasio, et al.
Call Number: e-book only
Publication Date: Athens, Ohio: Swallow Press, 2009

Telling Stories: The Use of Personal Narratives in the Social Sciences and History - Mary Jo Maynes, et al.
Call Number: H61.29 .M39 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Also available as electronic book.


Doing Oral History: A Practical Guide - Donald A. Ritchie
Call Number: D16.14 .R57 2003
Publication Date: 2003

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Dore Minatodani
Contact Info
Send Email
Subjects:
Hawaii
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip