Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Proverbs, Dictionaries, Rain & Wind Names
ʻŌlelo Noʻeau: Hawaiian Proverbs & Poetical Sayings by
Call Number: PN6519.H4 P84 1983
Publication Date: 1983
Searchable online through HathiTrust.
You must be logged in to HathiTrust - click the yellow “LOG IN” button on a HathiTrust page, select “University of Hawaii” and log in using your UH login credentials.
Archaeology, History, Heiau & Legends
Archaeology & Historical Accounts
Ruling Chiefs of Hawaii by
Call Number: DU624.65 .K3413 1992
Publication Date: 1992
Available Online Here
. "Traces Hawaiʻi's history from ʻUmi, high chief eight generations before Kamehameha I, to the death of Kamehameha III in 1854. Covers the arrival of Captain James Cook, the consolidation of the Hawaiian kingdom by Kamehameha I, the coming of the missionaries, and the changes affecting the kingdom through the reign of Kamehameha III."
Native Planters in Old Hawaii: Their Life, Lore, and Environment by
Call Number: AM101 .B442 no.233 1991
Publication Date: 1972
"Originally published in 1972, Native Planters in Old Hawaii is the fruit of a brilliant collaboration between Pacific anthropologist, E. S. Craighill Handy, his wife, Elizabeth Green Handy, and the beloved expert on Hawaiian language and culture, Mary Kawena Pukui. Today, this classic work remains invaluable to scholars and practitioners alike as both a precious ethnographic resource on Hawaiian planting practices and as an in-depth examination of Hawaiians’ relationship to land. The book discusses basic patterns of Hawaiian planting culture, the gods worshipped, class and land divisions, water rights and irrigation techniques, tools, crafts, and general horticultural skills. It includes an examination of how people shaped their cultivation practices to the varied Hawaiian environment, and documents various myths and rituals connected to planting."
Fornander Collection of Hawaiian Antiquities and Folk-lore by
Call Number: AM101 .B4473 (vol. 4-6)
Publication Date: 1985
Accounts of Hawaiian origins, traditions, history and legends gathered from unattributed original sources. Divided in three volumes numbered 4-6: 4) covers story of islands' formation and origins, Aukelenuiaiku, Moikeha, Kila, Umi, Kihapiilani, Lonoikamakahiki, Kualii, and various legends; 5) covers Kawelo, Pakaa, Kuapakaa, and various legends; 6) covers religion, fishing, cultivation, games and sports, origins, migrations, voyaging, genealogy, chants and songs.
Hawaiian antiquities = (Moolelo Hawaii) by
Call Number: DU625 .M252 1971
Publication Date: 1951
"David Malo (ca. 1793–1853) stands with Samuel Kamakau and John Papa ‘Ī‘ī as one of the three most significant Native Hawaiian historians of the nineteenth century. Malo’s Hawaiian Antiquities is considered a classic and deserves a place in the library of any serious student of Hawaiiana. Raised among chiefs, priests, artisans, and scholars in the court of Kamehameha I, Malo provides one of the few authentic sources of information on the ancient beliefs and practices of Hawaiians. Malo was among the Hawaiians to study reading and writing with the missionaries. Although he was influenced by Christian teachings, he had been brought up under the traditional Hawaiian kapu system and his writings closely embody Hawaiian patterns of thought. Hawaiian Antiquities is a singular account of Hawaiian culture and society in pre-Christian times. This engrossing study, completed in 1839, tells us of the material world of Hawaiians, as well as their origins, myths and beliefs."
Complete List of Heiaus (temples) and Sites by
Call Number: REPRINT H023.13
Publication Date: 1938
From: Thrumʻs Hawaiian Annual for 1938, the reference book of information and statistics relating to the Territory of Hawaii, of value to merchants, tourists and others (1938), pp. 121-142.
Includes Hawaii, Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Oahu, and Kauai.
Hawaiian Mythology by
Call Number: GR385 .B43 1976
Publication Date: 1976
Searchable online through HathiTrust.
Other editions available: 1940
Part 1. The gods. Coming of the gods
Part 2. Children of the gods. The Pele myth
Part 3. The chiefs. Papa and Wakea - Genealogies
Part 4. Heroes and lovers in fiction. Kupua stories - Trickster stories - Voyage to the land of the gods.
Photographs, Mele, Maps, & Knowing ʻĀina
Kaiāulu: Gathering Tides by
Publication Date: 2018
"Building on two decades of interviews with more than sixty Hawaiian elders, leaders, and fishermen and women, Kaiāulu shares their stories of enduring community efforts to perpetuate kuleana, often translated to mean “rights and responsibilities.” Community actions extend kuleana to include nurturing respectful relationships with resources, guarding and cultivating fishing spots, perpetuating collective harvests and sharing, maintaining connection to family lands, reasserting local governance rooted in ancestral values, and preparing future generations to carry on."
Ancestral Places Understanding Kanaka Geographies by
Publication Date: 2014
"Explores the deep connections that ancestral Kānaka (Native Hawaiians) enjoyed with their environment. It honors the moʻolelo (historical accounts) of the ancestral places of their kūpuna (ancestors), and reveals how these moʻolelo and their relationships with the ʻāina (land) inform a Kanaka sense of place."
Waves of Knowing: A Seascape Epistemology by
Publication Date: 2016
"In Waves of Knowing Karin Amimoto Ingersoll marks a critical turn away from land-based geographies to center the ocean as place. Developing the concept of seascape epistemology, she articulates an indigenous Hawaiian way of knowing founded on a sensorial, intellectual, and embodied literacy of the ocean."
I Ulu I Ka ‘Āina: Land by
Publication Date: 2013
"Tackles the subject of the Kanaka (Hawaiian) connection to the ‘āina (land) through articles, poetry, art, and photography. From the remarkable cover illustration by artist April Drexel to the essays in this volume, there is no mistaking the insistent affirmation that Kanaka are inseparable from the ‘āina. This work calls the reader to acknowledge the Kanaka’s intimate connection to the islands."