Contents: Dictionary of the Hawaiian language / Lorrin Andews -- Hawaiian dictionary / Mary Kawena Pukui -- Mamaka kaiao -- Hawaii place names / John R.K. Clark -- Place names of Hawaii / Mary Kawena Pukui.
Compiled from the records of the Boundary Commission and the Board of Commissioners to Quiet Land Titles. Includes the islands of Kauaʻi, Oʻahu, Molokaʻi, Lānaʻi and Hawaiʻi. Searchable by place name, ahupuaʻa, island, comments and lexicography, including combinations and Boolean and/or.
Also available on Ulukau. Distinctions between this site and Ulukau: This site includes all of the Oʻahu Catalog, but does not include the following islands that do appear on Ulukau: Kaʻula, Leeward Island, Lehua, Nihoa and Niʻihau.
This website has all the Environment Assessment (EA) and Environment Impact Statement (EIS) reports managed by the Environmental Review Program (formerly known as the Office of Environmental Quality Control). These reports provide great historical and archaeological information.
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs' (OHA's) Papakilo Database, is the ongoing development of a cutting edge and comprehensive "Database of Databases" consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai`i's history.
This online repository of data will greatly increase OHA's ability to preserve and perpetuate cultural and historical information and practices, thus providing an invaluable resource to educate other regulatory agencies, OHA's Native Hawaiian beneficiaries, and the general public. NOTE: Free registration required to access the database.
Do a control find search in the "Hawaiian chants (title)" and "Hawaiian songs" section. If you find a song, you will need to look for the book it is published in.
UHM Library Hawaiian Collection digital images. A collection of black and white photographs of scenic sites and identifiable landmarks in Hawaii, programs, tickets, etc.
UHM Library Hawaiian Collection digital images. A collection of black and white photographs of scenic sites and identifiable landmarks in Hawaii. Images are from a variety of albums and scrapbooks acquired by or donated to the Hawaiian Collection.
Provides online access to an extensive collection of maps held at the land survey office. Best search is the Map Register Search. Click Map Search, scroll down to Map Register Search, download the index, browse index for relevant map, enter map number in the search, then download pdf or tiff.
Excellent source for original Mahele records including Native and Foreign Registers, Testimonies, Awards and Royal Patents, the Bishop Museum's Hawaiian Ethnological Notes (HEN), and the Hawaiʻi State Archives land index.
Excellent source for typescript and translated Mahele records specifically Native and Foreign Registers and Testimonies. Must pay to access documents. Visit UHM Hawaiian and Pacific Collection reference desk for assistance.
Digital access to fire insurance maps from various areas in Hawaii. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years.
