Find the best library databases for your research.
Loading...
Remote Login Information
Remote access to subscription databases is restricted to University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa students, faculty, and staff to comply with licensing agreements. Off-campus users will be asked to login via the ITS Web Login Service.
NOTE: This is a free TRIAL. Trial ends Oct. 31, 2024
China and the Modern World is a series of digital archive collections sourced from preeminent libraries and archives across the world, including the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library. The series covers a period of about 180 years (1800s to 1980s) when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic.
This trial includes access to the following collections:
- Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949
- Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China, 1854-1949
- Hong Kong, Britain, and China Part 1 1841-1951
- Hong Kong, Britain, and China, Part II: 1965–1993
- Diplomacy and Political Secrets, 1860-1950
- Records of Shanghai and the International Settlement, 1836–1955
- Imperial China and the West Part 1: 1815-1881
- Imperial China and the West Part 2: 1865-1905
The Coronavirus Research Database is a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis.
NOTE: This is a free TRIAL. Trial ends Oct. 7, 2024.
The Library is trialing the following databases: Enrich Professional Publishing (EPP); Heritage Books of Asia; ISEAS Publishing; Journal of the Burma Research Society (JBRS); KW Publishers; Malaysia Historical Collection; Paths International; Rare Books on Burma; Showwe
NOTE: This is a free TRIAL. Trial ends Oct. 31, 2024.
This archive will enable students and scholars to examine a selection of records that constitute a political and social history of Western interaction with a number of Asian countries during the nineteenth century. Most of the manuscript collections in this archive consist of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records. These records were generally maintained in the local consular or diplomatic posts and reflect the day-to-day accounting of the activities of the indigenous populations and their national governments, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions. In addition, a selection of missionary correspondence and journals has been included, as missionaries usually provided some of the earliest contact in various Asian locales with Western ideals.
NOTE: This is a free TRIAL. Trial ends Oct. 31, 2024.
State Papers Online Colonial is a publishing program for the digitization of the Colonial Office files of the British Government, now housed at The National Archives, United Kingdom. These documents record Britain's administration and governance of countries under Britain's colonial rule, their international relations across the period, and the changing demographics and daily life of their inhabitants.
NOTE: This is a free TRIAL. Trial ends Oct. 7, 2024.
iG Publishing presents a multi-language platform for the legendary cartoonist, Osamu Tezuka, to read many of his masterpiece comics in seven translated languages as well as the original Japanese.
Registration required. UH Mānoa students, faculty, and staff must create an individual account on our WSJ registration page: https://WSJ.com/UHManoa. Once activated, you can access this resource directly from WSJ.com or by using the WSJ app on your smartphone or tablet. The Wall Street Journal is a national daily newspaper with emphasis on business and finance, but also includes U.S. and world news on education, politics, health, technology, the arts, and more. Available in English, Chinese and Japanese language editions. WSJ.com archives go back four years. More information and directions for setting up and renewing your personal WSJ account.
NOTE: This is a free TRIAL. Trial ends Dec. 20, 2024.
Collection of over 50,000 Chinese ancient maps, categorized into seventeen major groups, including territorial maps, scenic spots, city maps, and composite maps.
