Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Licensing Notice and Login Information

Remote access to subscription databases is RESTRICTED to University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa students, faculty, and staff to comply with licensing agreements. Off-campus users will be asked to login via the ITS Web Login Service.

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
NOTE: This is a free TRIAL. Trial ends Nov. 8, 2021.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars, researchers, and students at the college and university level. A multi-disciplinary resource, collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.
Trial
NOTE: This is a free TRIAL. Trial ends Oct. 22, 2021.
Encapsulating the quintessential elements of Chinese culture, calligraphy can be regarded as the core of Chinese art. To discuss Chinese art without knowledge of calligraphy is nearly impossible. The Chinese Calligraphy and Inscription Collection (歷代書法碑帖集成) offers scholars outstanding examples of Chinese calligraphic inscriptions, with 4,268 significant, classical works presenting approximately 1.7 million characters and variants. Covering the period of the Xia to Qing Dynasty (c. 2070 BC-1911), the collection integrates single-character photos and full-work images with full-text searching, and features the ability to search the Taiwanese Ministry of Education’s landmark reference publication, the Dictionary of Chinese Character Variants.
Trial
The Coronavirus Research Database is a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis.
Trial
NOTE: This is a free TRIAL. Trial ends Nov. 8, 2021.
The Dutch East Indies experienced the replacement of company rule by Dutch government rule and the complete transformation of Java into a colonial society and the successful extension of colonial rule to Sumatra and the eastern archipelago during the early 20th century. The boundaries of the modern state of Indonesia were defined during this time and the process of generally exploitative political, military, and economic integration began. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Dutch colonial government and the activities of the native peoples.
Trial
NOTE: This is a free TRIAL. Trial ends Oct. 22, 2021.
Rated as “the crown jewels of sinology in Taiwan“ with Academia Sinica, National Palace Museum is acclaimed as a ‘gold mine of Chinese culture’ where accommodates 690,000 artworks that covers the 5000-year long history of China. It is not only a world-class museum where has the richest collections of Chinese arts, but is also the most prestigious artistic brand which is good at combining technologies with modern creativity, bringing the cultural essence to the public. As an essential landmark of Chinese history, National Palace Museum in Taipei has been studied for the latest few decades in diverse fields including museology, art, history, classic literature, social education, creative economy, information science, technology, communication, management, tourism, international trade, law, politics and so on.
Trial
NOTE: This is a free TRIAL. Trial ends Oct. 22, 2021.
Rated as “The Crown Jewels of Sinology in Taiwan” with National Palace Museum’s journals, Sinica Sinoweb is the sole full text searchable database of its kind from Taiwan. It collects the core sinological journals of Academia Sinica, and other outstanding Taiwanese journals known worldwide. From the first issue to the present, the collection is exclusively intact, especially on the early rare issues/articles. It is exclusively available for full text search as well. Sinologists around the world highly praise and appreciate its excellent digitization work on rare / difficult characters, such as, Bulletin of the Institute of History and Philology, and Chinese Studies of National Central Library.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...