University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Asia Collection: Home

Asia Reading Room Hours

Asia Collection Logo

Reading Room Hours:

Mon-Thur:   8am - 10pm
Friday:       8am - 6pm
Saturday:   9am - 5pm
Sunday:     12pm - 10pm

Asia Reference Hours:

Mon-Fri: 10am - 4pm

Asia Reference Phone Number:

(808) 956 - 8116

Hamilton Library Building Hours

(Be sure to check the building hours website for detailed information concerning holidays, summer hours and breaks.)

Introduction

          The Asia Collection

The Asia Collection at Hamilton Library at the University of Hawai'i - Manoa is the most significant collection of Asian materials in the State of Hawaii and in the Pacific. It dates from 1920, when the Board of Regents established the Japanese Department at the University of Hawaii. In 1930, the Oriental Institute was established to focus on the study of China, India and Japan. In 1962, the newly established East-West Center absorbed, with the University's agreement, the vernacular materials of the Oriental Library, and expanded the scope to include Korea and all countries in South and Southeast Asia. In 1970, the Asia Collection was transferred to the University of Hawaii as a unique collection.

Events

Please join us for the thought provoking lecture, "The Nikudan-san’yūshi (Three Flesh Bomb Heroes) Phenomenon,1932-1945: A Tale of Japanese Suicide Bombers" by Dr. Hanae Kramer of Communications," sponsored by the UHM Library Asia Collection and the Center for Japanese Studies.

3:00 pm, December 8 @ Room 306 (3rd FL)

lecture flyer for Three Japanese Suicide Bombers 1932

Head of the Asia Collection

                        bazzell picture 2017

Tokiko Y. Bazzellバゼル山本登紀子 Librarian V
Contact:
Asia Collection Department, University of Hawaii at Manoa Library. Room 406
Email: tokiko [at] hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-2309