Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes to Hawaii Articles in Magazines and Journals
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
Citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Covers all subject areas and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. Coverage dates back to the 1890s; all titles indexed are held in the print collections of Hamilton Library's Hawaiian and Pacific Collections. A listing of titles indexed in HPJI is available.
Search for articles in SOCIAL PROCESS IN HAWAII and your social movement in Hawaii using the Advanced Search.
Social Process in Hawaii
Journal published by the UHM Dept. of Sociology, not all issues are available in ScholarSpace.
Hawaiian Journal of History
Provides full text access to the holdings of the Hawaiian Journal of History, up to 2017.
Full text is available for recent journal issues in the Academic Search Complete database.
Index to the Honolulu advertiser and Honolulu star-bulletin. by Hawaii State Library
Call Number: AI21.H6 I5
1929-1967 indexed together in 5 volumes.
1968-1990 indexed annually in separate volumes.
1929-1967, available online at http://ulukau.org/gsdl2.82/cgi-bin/hni.
1989-current, https://ipac2.librarieshawaii.org/ipac20/ipac.jsp?profile= . (Hawaii Newspaper Index database)
Not full-text, citations only. Once you find an article citation, you will have to go to the microfilm for the actual content or the article.
Star Advertiser Online
Full text access to the Honolulu Advertiser, 1999 to current. Login with your Hawaii State Library card number (not your UH ID number).
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Click the "Login to ILL" link and login with your UH username and password. ILL is to request materials not owned by UHM Library, things that are lost or missing or were canceled. Textbooks will not be requested.