ILL Lending Controlled Digital Lending CDL: Procedures

As you are offering the CDL option to the requestor, please keep in mind the different payment options and what they require:

Exempt -> GWLA or IDS Library ; We provide the CDL for free

Standard IFM -> $25; paid through charging an ACTIVE ILLiad request. Dummy request will need to be made if the ILLiad request times out. 

IFLA Vouchers -> full or half vouchers adding up to $25, delivered to us via postal mail

Credit card -> $25 ; Requires call to Billing Staff (Patty) ; Note our time zone/business hours

Payment instruction sheet: illiad (\\illiad) (Z:) -> STATISTICS-> LENDING Invoice Billing -> credit card pmt details

Check in USD drawn on a US bank -> $25 ; delivered to us via postal mail

CDL CONDI

Many CDLs requests start as physical loan requests and need to be conditionalized to confirm that the borrowing library understands and accepts the conditions for a CDL. In the conditionalization message, please include an estimated timeline on the turnaround for the scan. This timeline can be months depending on the size of the request, the time of year, and the current workload in ILL.

Some patrons may try to see if someone else has a shorter turnaround or prefer to try and get a physical loan and will ask that we cancel the request to let the request continue through the lending string. Be aware that these patrons may circle back to us if they cannot find a physical loan, but the book will return to the shelves in the meantime.

Additional CONDIs:

Some collections, like HAWN/PAC, may have additional conditions, like a shorter loan period, that should be listed when conditionalizing the loan. 

Standard requests (Non-GWLA and Non-IDS) may need to be conditionalized if the cost exceeds their max cost listed in the request. We currently charge $25 for CDL scans.

ILLiad requests can only be conditionalized once. If the item was previously conditionalized during the paging step (i.e. for bad citation, confirming the volume), CDL conditions need to emailed to the requestor. Contact information for the borrowing library can be found by clicking on the "OCLC" button in the ILLiad request.

Conditionalizing Request Instructions

After the item has been conditionalized

Write CONDI and the date on the top of the paperwork so you can gauge when to check for responses.

The Hamilton ILL section has been sharing loans via CDL since June 2021. As scanning CDLs takes a lot of time and we wanted to keep a record of what we have offered as a CDL and we have collated the data for each loan request and stored the scanned PDF in an “archive” folder for potential re-use in the future. The collated data listing allows the ILL staff and the Hamilton Library subject/area selectors to check against the list of previously scanned titles. If an item has been scanned previously, the archived scan could be re-used for subsequent CDL loans.

You can ctrl F to search the title in the Google Form Response Spreadsheet. Once you found the request, scroll right to the "Archived PDF File Name" column and the "Notes" column to know the name(s) of the PDF scan(s) and whether there are multiple parts to the scan. Then search this file name in the archived pdf folder: 

illiad (\\illiad) (Z:) -> ARCHIVE FOR CDL

Archiving CDL Instructions

Archiving CDL Google Form

Archiving CDL Google Form Responses

Once items are ready to be scanned they will be marked with CDL Scanning Flags and, if the scan is expected to be very large, instructions on how to log the scans into a Google Spreadsheet. If a Google spreadsheet is deemed necessary, it will be created by the Lending ILL staff (or whoever is overseeing the CDL request).

Below are instructions on how to scan CDL requests:

Scanning CDL

Searchable PDF/OCR Scanning Instructions

All CDLs should be checked for their scan quality since CDL loans are supposed to be like borrowing the entire physical book. Since CDL scans are typically big, as we are scanning the whole item, the scanning might have been done in multiple sessions. When possible, try to merge files so you do not need to create as many Occam's Reader entries. (The max file size in Occam's Reader is 10,000MB)

In addition, you may find that the files and file names are organized in a Google Spreadsheet if the Item is large enough. Smaller items may have the organization done on the paperwork of the CDL request.

Merging with Adobe: Merging multiple files into one

If anything needs to be de-skewed, cropped, or reordered, you can use the editing features in Adobe. 

Editing with Adobe: Recognize Text, Cropping, Reordering Pages

To comply with accessibility requirements, ILL scans should be in a Readable PDF (OCR) format. If the scan was not already saved as a searchable PDF, the file can be changed in Adobe during the Quality Check step:

Confirming OCR/Searchable PDF format

*This step is for charging Standard IFM requests*

*If the request is Exempt or being paid via non-IFM method, you can skip this step*

Due to the amount of time it takes to supply an item as a CDL, sometimes the ILLiad request will time-out before we are done scanning. When this occurs, we will be unable to bill the borrowing library and will need them to submit a dummy request. A dummy request is a request whose purpose is to allow us to bill the borrowing library for a timed-out request that we were filling. The borrowing library will need to be contacted via email to ask for this dummy request. 

The dummy request should be received BEFORE uploading the CDL into Occam's Reader (since the due date gets set when uploading) and delivering the access information to the borrowing library. This is to confirm that we have the ability to charge the borrowing library. However, we do not finish the dummy request and charge the borrowing library until AFTER we supply them with the access information. 

When the dummy request comes in, make a note in the ILLiad "Notes" field about this being a dummy request and the TN/ILL numbers of the timed-out request that it is linked to. Place a note of the dummy request's info in the notes of the original request too. The dummy request will need to be made into an article request, if not already.

Finish the dummy request:

1. Mark "Marked Found Scan Now" 
2. Bill the proper loan amount
3. In place of an article, upload the "DUMMY Request Thank You Filler" pdf in Z Drive -> BOOKSCANPDF

Our library currently uses a stand-alone software application called Occam's Reader to create the CDL loan, which provides an online link and password that is shared with the single patron. A loan period is set and the online loan is inactivated after the "due date". 

Here is instructions on how to Delivering CDL via Occam's Reader and give the Borrowing Library the request's Occam's Reader information via email.

After the scan has been put into Occam's Reader, open up the associated ILLiad request and copy/paste the login info into the notes. 

If the request is Standard IFM, ILLiad request must be ACTIVE:

1. "Mark Finish Scan Now"
2. Billing window will open. Change the price to $25.
3. Click "Recalculate"
4. Click "Charge"
5. A new window will open. Click "Import Document"

• IF ORIGINAL REQUEST, find the CDL coversheet:         

                        illiad (\\illiad) (Z:) -> BOOKSCANPDF -> CDLcoversheet

• IF DUMMY REQUEST, find the dummy request thank you letter 

                        illiad (\\illiad) (Z:) -> BOOKSCANPDF -> "DUMMY Request Thank You Filler" 

        6. Send via Odyssey or Article Exchange to finish the request

If the request is Standard non-IFM, regardless of ILLiad request's active status:

1. Make sure to input Occam's Reader information in the notes field to indicate request information was delivered to requesting library
2. Can route the request to Request Finished (as payment will NOT be done through the ILLiad request, i.e via IFLA Vouchers, Credit Card or Check)

If the request is Exempt and ILLiad request still active:

1. "Mark Finish Scan Now"
2. A new window will open. Click "Import Document"
3. Find the CDL coversheet:         illiad (\\illiad) (Z:) -> BOOKSCANPDF -> CDLcoversheet
4. Send via Odyssey or Article Exchange to finish the request

If the request is Exempt and timed out:

1. Make sure to input Occam's Reader information in the notes field to indicate request information was delivered to requesting library
2. Can route the request to Request Finished (as no payment is needed)

Main Collection -> Physical item kept on a shelf to the left of ILL Lending staff's desk.

HAWN/PAC -> The physical item will be kept on a CDL shelf in HAWN/PAC. This is to avoid incurring overdue fees on the resource sharing account. You will fill out two HAWN/PAC CDL flags. One will be kept with the item up on HAWN/PAC's CDL shelf and one will be kept with the rest of the CDLs by the ILL Lending staff's desk. The latter will be used to know when the CDL's PDF can be archived.