Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accessing Library Materials
Search OneSearch for books, journal articles, and other items. If you find a book you want to access or check out, click the "Sign In" link and log in with your UH username and password. Click the "Request Specific Copy" and select the copy in the Hawaiian Collection that can be borrowed (avoid copy that says Reference or Library Use Only) or the Hamilton copy. Wait for an email message that the book is available to be picked up at the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections circulation counter. If there is only one copy of the item in the Hawaiian Collection, it cannot be borrowed but you can use the item in the reading room.
If you visit Hamilton Library, you must show your UH ID to gain entry to the library. You must also wear a face mask.
If you have any questions, please contact me directly at firstname.lastname@example.org . I'm happy to help.
OneSearch searches almost everything in UHM Library's collection. It searches through multiple databases and the library catalog at one time. Results include books, articles, conference papers, maps, government documents, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.
Reclaiming Kalakaua: Nineteenth-Century Perspectives on a Hawaiian Sovereign (ebook) by
Publication Date: 2019
Reclaiming Kalakaua: Nineteenth-Century Perspectives on a Hawaiian Sovereign examines the American, international, and Hawaiian representations of David La'amea Kamananakapu Mahinulani Nalaiaehuokalani Lumialani Kalākaua in English- and Hawaiian-language newspapers, books, travelogues, and other materials published during his reign as Hawaii's moi (sovereign) from 1874 to 1891.
A Power in the World: The Hawaiian Kingdom in Oceania (ebook) by
Publication Date: 2019
Few people today know that in the nineteenth century, Hawaii was not only an internationally recognized independent nation but played a crucial role in the entire Pacific region and left an important legacy throughout Oceania. As the first non-Western state to gain full recognition as a coequal of the Western powers, yet at the same time grounded in indigenous tradition and identity, the Hawaiian Kingdom occupied a unique position in the late nineteenth-century world order. From this position, Hawaii's leaders were able to promote the building of independent states based on their country's model throughout the Pacific, envisioning the region to become politically unified.
Teaching Oceania (5 vols.), ebook
Volume 1, Militarism and Nuclear Testing in the Pacific
Volume 2, Gender in the Pacific
Volume 3, Health & Environment in the Pacific
Volume 4, Oceanic Arts: Continuity and Innovation
Volume 5, Islands of French Speaking Oceania
Dissertations & Theses
Includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and selected master's work of authors from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. More than 750,000 dissertations and theses from 1997 on have been digitized and are available for PDF download. Print copies of additional dissertations and theses not yet digitized are available for purchase. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
WorldCat (via OCLC FirstSearch)
OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. NOTE: Only 4 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.
WorldCat via OCLC FirstSearch will soon become WorldCat Discovery. Click here to try WorldCat Discovery now.
Interlibrary loan (ILL) services
ILL is to request mateials not owned by the UH Mānoa Library, things that are lost or missing, or were canceled. Login before submitting request.