University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Okinawa Special Collection: Hawaii Karate Collection / ハワイ空手コレクション

Special collection guides and materials related to Okinawa and the Ryukyus housed at the University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

Hawaii Karate Collection Overview

Hawaii Karate Collection Overview

The Okinawa Collection of UHM’s Hamilton Library received a major donation of books, magazines and multi-media resources (over 700 books and CDs/DVDs/video tapes) on karate from the Hawaii Karate Museum. With this important donation, UHM Hamilton Library has become a major resource for Okinawan/Japanese martial arts. The majority of the books are accessible at the Asia and East general collections (3rd & 4th floors).

 

Finding Hawaii Karate Museum items in OPAC

  1. Visit UHM Library's OPAC called Voyager
  2. Type "karate museum" (without quotation marks) in search box, limit your search by choosing "Search by Holding Keyword."
  3. The records of the items donated from the Hawaii Karate Museum will be shown.

UH Voyager

 

Hawaii Karate Museum Rare Books and Journals

Over 260 rare books and journals have been placed in the Asia Special Collections (4th floor). Advance appointments are necessary to use materials in the Asia Special Collections. The list of items (PDF) can be found at the bottom of this page.

Access Policy

To access materials in the Hawaii Karate Collection, please read the Access Policy and make an appointment with Okinawa Studies Librarian at least 2 weeks in advance.

Hawaii Karate Museum Collection Digital Archives

Hawaii Karate Museum Collection Digital Archives

Hawaii Karate Collection at UH Manoa

We currently have more than 40 books and journals in digitized format. Click here to see the list of digitized books/journals.

The digital archives present selected items from Hawaii Karate Museum Collection and other items outside copyright. Please notify the Okinawa Studies Librarian and obtain permission and/or high resolution images to use digitized materials for your research and/or teaching. 

The use of the digitized materials on this website is limited to individual research and study. 

*eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii community and researchers around the world. eVols provides a home for material which the Library or the University digitizes as part of grant projects and digital library program initiatives.

Okinawa Studies Librarian

Sachiko Iwabuchi 岩渕祥子's picture
Sachiko Iwabuchi 岩渕祥子
Contact:
Asia Collection Department
University of Hawaii at Manoa Library
Room 402
sachiko.iwabuchi [at] hawaii.edu
(808) 956-2311
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page
Subjects:Okinawa