University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Okinawa Special Collection: Okinawa Special Collection Digital Archives

Special collection guides and materials related to Okinawa and the Ryukyus housed at the University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

Sakamaki Hawley Collection Digital Archives

Sakamaki Hawley Collection Digital Archives

The University of Hawaii at Manoa Library and the University of the Ryukyus Library have collaborated in digitizing the Sakamaki/Hawley Collection. Over hundred items of 218 digitized titles are now online at the University of the Ryukyus Library Ryukyu/Okinawa Special Collections Digital Archives. In addition to content summaries and explanations in English & Japanese, special features such as a glass view function, modern language translations, and text reprints of the original language will be added at a later date.

List of the titles of the Sakamaki/Hawley Collection online
The University of the Ryukyus Special Collections Archives

As of March 2017, only a few items are left unprocessed.

Please note that using any materials of our digital archives without permission is prohibited by law.

Hawaii Karate Museum Collection Digital Archives

Hawaii Karate Museum Collection Digital Archives

Hawaii Karate Collection at UH Manoa

We currently have more than 40 books and journals in digitaized format. Click here to see the list of digitized books/journals.

The digital archives present selected items from Hawaii Karate Museum Collection and other items outside copyright. Please notify the Okinawa Studies Librarian and obtain permission and/or high resolution images to use digitized materials for your research and/or teaching. 

Titles in black are available on eVols.* Please click the English/Romanized titles of the books and journals you would like to download. The use of the digitized materials on this website is limited to individual research and study. 

*eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii community and researchers around the world. eVols provides a home for material which the Library or the University digitizes as part of grant projects and digital library program initiatives.

eVols of Hawaii Karate Museum Collection is found here.

Other Digital Archive Collection

Other Digital Collections housed and available at the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa

USCAR (United States Civil Administration of the Ryukyu Islands; 米国民政府) Images and Documents

  • Images of Okinawa after World War II

See, also

Okinawa Studies Librarian

Sachiko Iwabuchi 岩渕祥子's picture
Sachiko Iwabuchi 岩渕祥子
Contact:
Asia Collection Department
University of Hawaii at Manoa Library
Room 402
sachiko.iwabuchi [at] hawaii.edu
(808) 956-2311
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page
Subjects:Okinawa