Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sample Databases for Finding Articles of Science
via Web of Science: 1969 - present
A basic research tool for biological and biomedical sciences. Includes full bibliographic citations and current life science abstracts derived from approximately 7,000 biological and biomedical journals from over ninety countries. Guide to Biological Abstracts
CAB Direct (CAB Abstracts)
1910 - present
Agriculture and allied fields, including rural tourism development and world agricultural economics. Over 10,000 journals, monographs, conference proceedings, theses, technical reports, patents from over 100 countries. Guide to CAB Direct
IEEE/IET Electronic Library
1998 - present
Full-text access to 115 of the IEEE Society-sponsored journals and magazines, and the complete collection of proceedings of IEEE conferences (approximately 375 titles) that make up the world's core collection of electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science periodicals.
Provides free access to over 22 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Guide to PubMed Medline
1907 - present
SciFinder Scholar provides access to Chemical Abstracts and covers all areas of chemistry and chemical engineering. Guide to SciFinder Scholar
NOTE: Access to SciFinder Scholar is restricted to UH Mānoa students and faculty. You must create a free personal account to use SciFinder Scholar online.
Web of Science
via Web of Science: 1980 - present
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Guide to Web of Science
Sample Open Access Databases
A rich source of preprints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
HEP Search : High Energy Physics Literature Database
A database of particle physics literature maintained and run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center. Many citations are to preprints or e-prints hosted at SLAC.
CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
PLOS Advanced Search
Search for articles from the collection of PLOS journals.
Going from Database Record to the Full-Text Article
Most of the Library's subscription databases enable you to connect directly from a citation record to the full-text article online, if available.
-Click on the link in the database record to search UHM electronic collections for the full-text article.
-If , you can search to see if we have it available in print.
-If we do not have the article in print or electronic format, you can to access the Interlibrary Loan online request form. Interlibrary Loan is a free service provided to you by the Library -- the article will be sent to you within a few days as a PDF file.
Sample Journals (of science!)
Dissertations & Theses
Large collection of dissertations and theses via Proquest. Full text: 1997 - present; Citations: 1743 - present.
Some Useful Call Numbers
Journals in UH Libraries are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers.
Science call numbers start with Q
Technology call numbers start with T
Need More Help?
Sci/Tech Librarians Email: