Hawaiʻi - Virtual Bookshelf

Online copy (Open Access)
Print copy
"[O]ffers for the first time a critical, wide-ranging geographical and temporal look at the varieties of whale histories in the Pacific. . . . [A]lso reveals deep tensions: between environmentalists and Indigenous peoples, between ideas and realities, and between the North and South Pacific" (publisher's website).

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy
"[C]ollects more than two dozen chronicles of white imperialism and Indigenous resistance. Ranging from the historical to the contemporary and grappling with Indigenous land struggles around the globe, these narratives showcase both scholarly and creative forms of expression. . . . toward further research into Indigenous resilience" (publisher's website). Includes a chapter by J. Kēhaulani Kauanui titled "Settler Colonial Purchase: Privatizing Hawaiian Land."

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy
Winner of the 2021 National Poetry Series. "In this debut collection, No‘u Revilla crafts a lyric landscape brimming with shed skin, water, mo‘o, ma‘i. She grips language like a fistful of wet guts and inks the page red—for desire, for love, for generations of blood spilled by colonizers. . . . It is a testament to queer Indigenous women who carry baskets of names and stories, 'still sacred'" (publisher's website).

Print copy
Online copy not available
"This compelling anthology advocates for recognition of the Okinawan American identity because, simply stated, Okinawans are not Japanese! . . . Okinawa was once an independent nation, but due to the combined forces of Japanese and American colonialism and militarism, native Okinawans continue to endure loss of their language, lands, and culture. The diverse contributions within this anthology reflect the works of over 30 Hawaiʻi Okinawan creatives exploring and confronting Okinawan identity today (publisher's website).

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy
"By examining how early Hawaiian chiefs appropriated Western sailing technology to help build their island nation, Mills presents the fascinating history of sixty Hawaiian-owned schooners, brigs, barks, and peleleu canoes. While these vessels have often been dismissed as examples of chiefly folly, Mills highlights their significance in Hawaiʻi’s rapidly evolving monarchy, and aptly demonstrates how the monarchy’s own nineteenth-century sailing fleet facilitated fundamental transformations of interisland tributary systems, alliance building, exchange systems, and emergent forms of Indigenous capitalism" (publisher's website).

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy
"Hobart charts the social history of ice in Hawaiʻi to show how the interlinked concepts of freshness and refreshment mark colonial relationships to the tropics. From chilled drinks and sweets to machinery, she shows how ice and refrigeration underpinned settler colonial ideas about race, environment, and the senses" (publisher's website).

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy not available
"Addresses the subject of settler colonial identity and settler-indigenous relations through the prism of food. Provides rich, original, innovative and empirical contributions from a wide range of geographic case studies. Takes a multi-disciplinary approach, in a global comparative framework" (publisher's website). Includes a chapter from Laura Kitchings titled, "Definitions of Hawaiian Food: Evidence of Settler Colonialism in Selected Cookbooks from the Hawaiian Islands (1896–2021)."

Print copy
Online copy not available
"[H]elps growers and designers select the right combination of native Hawaiian and Polynesian-introduced plants (canoe plants) for specific growing zones and landscaping scenarios. It teaches gardeners, landscape architects, and others to identify the different native plants most suitable to their climate zone, personal tastes, gardening experience, and other factors" (publisher's website).

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy
"[T]ells the life story of the person who built the International Longshore and Warehouse Union (ILWU) into a labor powerhouse that now represents some 30,000 workers. An Australian immigrant, Bridges worked on the Pacific Coast docks before rising to leadership in the International Longshoreman’s Association. His militant unionism placed him at the center of the historic 1934 Pacific Coast longshoremen’s and maritime workers’ strikes, and then spurred him to expand his union to warehouse laborers and Hawaiian sugar and pineapple workers" (publisher's website).

Print copy
Online copy not available
"History of every building based on 200 years of historical newspapers, photographs, land records, maps, contemporary written sources, and field research. Included are dozens of rare historical photographs plus hundreds of period newspaper advertisements that will bring Chinatown to life through the years. . . . Includes a self-guided walking tour and QR code links to audio and video" (book description).

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy
"[T]ells the tale of Jim Shon’s twelve years as a member of the Hawaii State Legislature. Readers are encouraged to put themselves into the shoes of a legislator and to gain an appreciation for the strengths and weaknesses of today’s representative form of democracy in general, and Hawaii’s recent experience in particular. . . . Most chapters include a number of lessons and personal conclusions about our democratic process. Readers are invited to ponder these, to agree or disagree, and to better understand how our community elects its representatives and gathers each year to make its laws (publisher's website).

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy
"The authors of this book analyze the formation of their human-environment systems using oral histories, biophysical evidence, and historical records, arguing that the Polynesian islands can serve as useful models for how human societies in general interact with their environments" (publisher's website).

Online copy (website version)
Print copy
"The bi-lingual book is an 8-page spread board book that chronicles the huakaʻi of Hawaiian Kingdom diplomat Timoteo Haʻalilio to the United States and Europe in 1843 to secure the recognition of independence of the Hawaiian Kingdom by the western powers of the world at the time. This famous huakaʻi resulted in the signing of the Anglo France proclamation on November 28, 1843" (publisher's website).

Print copy
Online copy not available
"For the first time since 1906, Kelekona’s book is reprinted in its entirety. Kelekona writes the personal narrative of Piʻilani, devoted wife of Kaluaikoʻolau and mother to their young son, Kaleimanu. They struggle to escape the edict that would banish Koʻolau and Kaleimanu to Kalaupapa and devastate their family. . . . Published entirely in ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi, Kaluaikoolau is a powerful love story of great sorrow and immense pride. This reprint is embellished with historical photos that illuminate the times and characters of Piʻilani’s memorial to her husband and son. It includes an assembly of materials related to the Kalalau debacle, including news articles, chants and external narratives about Kaluaikoʻolau" (publisher's website).

Print copy
Online copy not available
"An Indigenous legend about how four extraordinary individuals of dual male and female spirit, or Mahu, brought healing arts from Tahiti to Hawaii, based on the Academy Award–contending short film" (book description).

Print copy
Online copy not available
"This book presents the entire first third of Kamakau’s massive serial column, a section comprised of 60 articles published weekly from 1866 to 1868 in Ka Nupepa Kuokoa under the title “Ka Moolelo o Kamehameha I.” This immense assemblage provides the author’s original text, a biography for Kamakau, and introductory texts that document the means by which this translation has come to exist, itself a history of language recovery and preservation" (publisher's website).

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy
"[E]xamines the leadership of Hawai‘i’s longest reigning monarch, King Kamehameha III. . . . [I]ts analysis focuses on the origination, implementation, and effectiveness of key statecraft tactics. The king’s carefully planned strategy relied on the acquisition of western ministerial skills and of an English-language newspaper (the Polynesian) to publicly defend his sovereign rights and privileges at home and abroad. He ensured the enactment of legislation to defeat foreigners’ challenges by strengthening juridical processes and safeguarding land-title rights for Hawaiians, and he deftly managed the multistage renegotiation of unequal international treaties" (publisher's website).

Print copy
Online copy not available
"[F]eatures the work of nine established Native Hawaiian artists in a first-of-its-kind art print collection. These sixteen images capture the beauty and complexity of the modern Hawaiian experience. Biographical information for each artist is also shared, along with insights into their background, purpose, and process. The artfolio is designed to make Native Hawaiian art more accessible to a wider audience in settings such as schools, homes, community centers, and places of work" (publisher's website).

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy
"Using accounts by missionaries, ship captains, early visitors, and reports in English and Hawaiian-language media, this groundbreaking book provides an extensive look into the now-lost residences of the kingdom’s elite. Learn about the historic events that took place in the residences of Hawaiian royalty and see how the island chiefs lived their everyday lives" (publisher's website).

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy
"[C]hronicle of humanity's history with the coast, taking us from the seaside pleasure palaces of Roman elites and the aquatic rituals of medieval pilgrims, to the venues of modern resort towns and beyond. . . . [that] traces the contours of the material and social economies of the beach throughout time" (publisher's website).

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy
"[E]levates our understanding of the importance of language and narrative to cultural revitalization. Moʻolelo preserve the words, phrases, sentences, idioms, proverbs, and poetry that define Kānaka Maoli. Encompassing narratives, literature, histories, and traditions, moʻolelo are intimately entwined with cultural identity, reciprocal relationships, and the valuing of place, collectively informing and enriching all Hawaiian life. The contributors, all Kanaka Maoli scholars, artists, and advocates from across the Pae ʻĀina o Hawaiʻi (Hawaiian archipelago), all fluent in ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi (Hawaiian language), describe how moʻolelo constantly inform their linguistic, literary, translation, rhetorical, and performance practices, as well as their political and cultural work" (publisher's website).

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy not available
"Investigates how the way we talk about place is a product of ideology, identity, and culture. Analyses how particular uses of language create localized understandings of specific places. Responds to the emerging spatial turn across the humanities and social sciences" (publisher's website). Includes a chapter by M. Kawēlau Wright titled "Nā Wahi Pana I Hoʻonalowale ʻIa…Ā Loaʻa Hou: Hawaiian Place Name Loss and Recovery in 'Paradise."

Print copy
Online copy not available
"In 1968, Ka'u Natives Herbert Ku'umi Kin In and Mary Kawena Pukui, shared Mo'olelo (Stories) to Richard and Lynette Paglinawan as they traveled through Ka'u, the southernmost part of Hawai'i Island. This special publication is a collection of memories about storied places, songs, and riddles that honor the traditions and people of this wahi pana (legendary place)" (book description).

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy
"The attempt to create a US-backed white settler state in Hawaiʻi sparked a turn-of-the-century debate about race-based nationalism and state-based sovereignty and jurisdiction that was contested on the global stage. Centered around a series of flash points that exposed the fragility of the imperial project, [this book] examines how the meeting and mixing of ideas that occurred between Hawaiians and Japanese, white American, and Portuguese transients and settlers led to the dynamic rethinking of the modern nation-state (publisher's website).

Print copy
Online copy not available
Winner of the Nautilus Award for Historical Fiction. "The story centers around three young women who sail to Hawai’i in 1918 to marry men they’ve never met. As the title implies, they are picture brides, or women who received a marriage proposal based simply on a photo. They are told that the men they’re to marry are landowners in Hawai’i and were part of an immigration wave that, according to the author’s note, began in 1903" (Asian Review of Books).

Print copy
Online copy not available
"[G]athers critically reflective articles by 25 leading and emerging scholars/practitioners from religious and non-religious backgrounds, representing three generations of survivors of imperial invasions and genocidal massacres across the globe" (publisher's website). Includes a chapter by Kyle Kajihiro titled "Hawaiʻi: A Pivot of Empire or Piko of Aloha ʻĀina?"

Online copy (UHM only)
Print copy
Featuring thirteen U.S. national monuments, the author "writes an eye-opening exploration of the stories these natural sites tell, the passions they stir, and the controversies surrounding them today. . . . [and] confronts an unjust past and imagines a collaborative future that bears witness to these regions’ enduring Indigenous connections" (publisher's website). Includes a chapter titled, "Expanding: Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument, Hawaii" (publisher's website).

Online copy (UHM onlyl)
Print copy not available
"[F]illed with phenomenal athletic performance, breakthrough female achievements, and plenty of inspiration and fun to see us through until the time when we can all hit the surf once more! Spanning a millennia from Hawaii to Malibu, New York to Australia, South Africa to the South Pacific and beyond, Jim Kempton presents a fascinating new narrative that will captivate anyone who loves sports and the outdoors" (Book description).

Print copy
Online copy not available
"[G]athers together more than 1,600 inoa ‘āina (place name) entries for Maui Komohana—an area of less than 200 square miles that has come to be known as 'West Maui.' . . . The content for [this book] was compiled from dozens of maps, nineteenth- and twentieth-century Hawaiian- and English-language newspapers, online databases, numerous print publications, archival records, mo‘olelo and mele, recordings of Kanaka Maoli speakers, and information shared directly with the author by his elders, masters, and mentors" (publisher's website).

Print copy
Online copy not available
"[C]lear and easy-to-use text for beginning Hawaiian language learners as well as for more advanced students who wish to review—or even expand—their knowledge of basic fundamentals. Grammatical structures are thoroughly explained in nontechnical language with simple elements taught first and then used as building blocks to facilitate mastery of more difficult patterns. Vocabulary and practice activities relate to practical everyday situations" (publisher's website).