The Okinawa Collection of UHM’s Hamilton Library received a major donation of books, magazines and multi-media resources (over 700 books and CDs/DVDs/video tapes) on karate from the Hawaii Karate Museum. With this important donation, UHM Hamilton Library has become a major resource for Okinawan/Japanese martial arts. The majority of the books are accessible at the Asia and East general collections (3rd & 4th floors).
Over 260 rare books and journals have been placed in the Asia Special Collections (4th floor). Advance appointments are necessary to use materials in the Asia Special Collections. The list of items (PDF) can be found at the bottom of this page.
To access materials in the Hawaii Karate Collection, please read the Access Policy and make an appointment with Okinawa Studies Librarian at least 2 weeks in advance.
We currently have more than 40 books and journals in digitized format. The list of digitized books/journals is available at https://evols.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/handle/10524/1054
The digital archives present selected items from Hawaii Karate Museum Collection and other items outside copyright. Please notify the Okinawa Studies Librarian and obtain permission and/or high resolution images to use digitized materials for your research and/or teaching.
The use of the digitized materials on this website is limited to individual research and study.
*eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii community and researchers around the world. eVols provides a home for material which the Library or the University digitizes as part of grant projects and digital library program initiatives.
Updated: September 2020