Religion Research Guide

When looking for articles Hamilton Library has access to many subject specific and general databases. Below a select few have been identified as potentially useful for Religion research.
NOTE: Often the full text of the article will be immediately accessible in the database you search. Sometimes, however, the database only provides a citation (article title, journal name, year, etc.) for the article. If you have only a citation, determine if the library has the journal that contains the article you want by following the steps to find journals (in the box to the right).

ATLA Religion Database provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Contains more than 1.3 million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 35 languages. It includes more than 430,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (600 currently indexed), more than 200,000 essay citations from 15,300 multi-author works, and more than 400,000 book review citations.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), the most comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia, contains nearly 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.

Comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. There are over 240 full text journals.

When you have a citation to an article and need to determine if the library has the journal that contains it, search for the journal name.