Religion Research Guide

This book covers many aspects of the Christian church, including theology, churches and denominations, the church calendar and organization, the Bible, theologians, philosophers, painters, musicians, and writers of religious works. It includes the church in Latin America, Eastern Churches, the Second Vatican Council, Black Churches, Feminist Theology, Holiness Movement, Liberation Theology, the ordination of women, and more.

This dictionary provides information about the books of the Bible, customs, worship, history, theology, important places, and personalities. Providing clear explanations of technical terms, methods of interpretation, and critical analysis, as well as notes on leading biblical scholars and their contributions, it is also concerned with denominational interpretations of the Bible.

This Companion provides a one-volume reference to the people, places, events, books, institutions, religious belief, and secular influence of the Bible. Entries range from brief presentations of fact to extended interpretive essays on religious concepts such as immortality, sin, grace, baptism, ethics, and the Holy Spirit. The entries also explore biblical views of modern issues such as homosexuality, marriage, anti-Semitism, and the influence of the bible on literature.

This dictionary gives accounts of every officially recognized pope in history, from St Peter to Pope Benedict XVI, as well as all of their irregularly elected rivals, the so-called antipopes. Each pope and antipope's entry covers his family and social background and pre-papal career as well as his activities in office. This new edition contains further reading sections in each entry, making the book an even more useful starting place for research.

This book provides accounts of the lives, cults, relationships through patronage, and artistic associations of more than a thousand saints, including entries on the Martyrs of Korea, Mexico, and Vietnam, as well as the recently canonized such as Edith Stein, Padro Pio, and Josémaria Escriva.

This dictionary treats all aspects of the Christian Church including theology, churches and denominations, patristic scholarship, the bible, the church calendar and its organization, popes, archbishops, saints, mystics, and much more.

This encyclopedia covers the religious and social changes that altered Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature. This broadly cast, interdisciplinary definition allows for a comprehensive social and intellectual history of early modern Europe.

This guide offers 325 articles that describe the people and places that appear in the New Testament and Old Testament of the Bible. From prophets, apostles, and groups (such as Hebrews and Angels) to kingdoms and countries, cities and mountains where Biblical events took place.