University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content
Banner Image

China Studies: Home

Provides a starting point for China Studies, including resources to find books, articles, etc.

About the China Collection

The China Collection of the UHM Library is a research-level collection consisting of materials about China in Chinese, western languages (mostly English), Japanese, Korean, Russian and other Asian languages. In addition to materials physically housed in the UHM Library, the Library has purchased over 800 e-books and over 5000 Chinese e-journals. 

The China Collection is particularly strong in history, Chinese language and literature (especially classical texts and traditional drama and fiction), Chinese philosophy and religion, and Chinese arts (especially Chinese architecture and paintings). To support teaching, learning, and research related to China at UHM, the collection has a growing number of resources on social-economic and political conditions of China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macau. 

Databases

All licensed for UHM use only

Chinamaxx Digital Libraries  超星数字图书馆

Contains more than 700 full-text Chinese e-books. Can be viewed with either the proprietary SSReader or IE browser (with Simplified Chinese Language Support package installed).

China Academic Journals 中国期刊全文数据库 

Subscription includes 6 series: Literature/History/Philosophy: 1915- ; Politics/Military Affairs/Law: 1915- ; Economy & Management: 1915- ; Education/Social Sciences: 1915- ; Medicine/Hygiene: 2000- ; Century Journals Project, 1950-1993. Please use simplified Chinese to search articles published in China.

Chinese Reference Ebooks 电子中文工具书

Gu Jin Tu Shu Ji Cheng 古今圖書集成

Contains the most important classics of the ancient China through the Qing dynasty. It is divided into six main categories, 32 sections, and 6,117 sub-sections, and each sub-section contains 10 parts. Topics of interest include astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economy, art, education, agriculture, medicine, etc.

Late Qing Dynasty Full-text Database (1833~1911) and Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949) 晚清民国全文期刊库(1833-1949)

Based on Shanghai Library's rich collection of the modern periodical resources, the Late Qing Dynasty Full-text Database (1833-1911) and Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949) covers around 10,000,000 pieces of articles in nearly 20,000 titles of periodicals published between 1833 and 1949 in China.

NOTE: Only one user allowed at a time. If you cannot login, please try again later. 

People's Daily: 1946-present  人民日报

This database brings you the latest news dispatches of policy information and resolutions of the Chinese Government and major domestic news and international news releases from China.

Scripta Sinica Database 漢藉電子文獻資料庫

Scripta Sinica Database is a compilation of more than 500 titles and 350,000,000 characters of materials pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history, including "Veritable Records of the Ming Dynasty" (Ming shi lu) and "Veritable Records of the Qing Dynasty" (Qing shi lu). The database is developed by the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, Republic of China.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection, 1832-1953

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Other Resources by Subjects

Special Collections

Lian Huan Hua 连环画 Collection -- Chinese Picture Story Books

The Library has collected more than 150 titles of lian huan hua that were published mostly during the Cultural Revolution, particularly between 1971-1976, when the publication of lian huan hua was rare and difficult at that time.

The title list of the Collection is available at: http://www.hawaii.edu/asiaref/china/Lianhuanhua_List.htm

The covers of books in the Collection have been digitalized and available at: http://digicoll.manoa.hawaii.edu/storybook/

 

San Cai Tu Hui 三才图会. 1609.

The San Cai Tu Hui encyclopedia is one of approximately 120,000 volumes of stitched-bound Chinese books. Most of the books were printed in the Ming (1368-1644) and early Qing (1644-1911) periods. San Cai Tu Hui literally means "Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Three Powers,' which are Heaven, Earth, and Man. The collection deals with all aspects of Chinese culture, but is particularly strong in medicine, Buddhism, history, and literature. Divided into 14 main subject divisions, sub-divided into many topics. Contains many illustrations, diagrams, and portraits. It is the source of most of the stylized portraits of such personages as the Yellow Emperor, Confucius, and the ancient emperors that are found in many reference books, textbooks, and tourist manuals.

Chinese Studies Librarian

Dongyun Ni
Contact:
Hamilton Library Rm. 410
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu, HI 96822

Phone: (808) 956-2312
Fax: (808) 956-2318
Subjects:China

Related Links

Asia Collection

Reference Hours

Monday - Friday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Closed on Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays

(All Library Hours)

------------------

Center for Chinese Studies

Confucius Institute 

Library Home  |  Research Tools  |  Personal Services  |  About the Library  |  Terms of Use  |  UH Manoa  |  UH System  |  Ask Us