GIS Data

Data by Geography

Hawaiʻi

Start Here

• State GIS Data - The Hawaiʻi Statewide GIS Program. Organized thematically. Data for counties, except Honolulu.
  • Geospatial Data Portal (web GIS interface to view categories and download layers)
  • Download GIS Data (listed by categories)
• Honolulu City and County Data
  • Honolulu Open Geospatial Data Portal (web GIS interface to view categories and download layers)
  • Data Download Service (listed by categories)
• Bathymetry (USGS Pacific Coastal & Marine Science Center)
• Coastal Imagery (SOEST)
• Sea Level Rise (SOEST)
• Hawaiʻi Climate Data Portal - Access to high-quality climate data and information for the state of Hawaiʻi.
• Hawaiʻi Rainfall Atlas downloads - Thirty years (1978–2007) of data and derived maps for more than 1,000 stations.
• Hawaiian Land Divisions (Island Breath) - Moku and ahupuaʻa divisions in several downloadable digital formats for each of 8 major islands. Shapefiles are not georeferenced.

Commercial Imagery Sources

These companies are known to have large imagery libraries available. No endorsement is implied.

• R.M. Towill Corporation - Aerial photography of Hawai‘i and the Pacific dating back to 1949 is available for purchase.

Pacific Islands

• Asia-Pacific Data Research Center (UHM School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology)
  Oceanographic and atmospheric data. Some data is restricted use. Consult the tutorial on using these datasets.
• Digital Atlas of Micronesia
  Extensive mapping and data layers of Yap, Pohnpei, Chuuk, and Kosrae.
• Fagatele Bay National Marine Sanctuary GIS Data Archive
  This site hosts lots of data for American Samoa.
• PacGeo
  An open access geospatial data repository for the Pacific Region providing geophysical, geodetic, and marine spatial data sets.
• Pacific Data Hub
  The Pacific Data Hub (PDH), is a central repository of data about the Pacific and from the Pacific. The platform serves as a gateway to a collection of data and information about the Pacific across key areas including population statistics, fisheries science, climate change adaptation, disaster risk reduction and resilience, public health surveillance, conservation of plant genetic resources for food security and human rights.
• Pacific Environmental Data Portal
  The Pacific Environment Portal provides an easy way to find, access and reuse regional and national data. It's purpose is to provide access and safe storage for environmental datasets to be used for monitoring, evaluating, and analyzing environmental conditions and trends to support environmental planning, forecasting, and reporting requirements at all levels. The Portal is part of the Pacific Data Ecosystem, a partnership between Pacific Island Countries, SPREP and SPC. It automatically pulls in data from national repositories. The countries retain data ownership.
• Pacific Islands Ocean Observing System (PacIOOS) Voyager
  An interactive map interface for visualizing and downloading oceanographic observations, forecasts, and other geospatial data and information related to the marine environment and beyond. Primary geographic focus at PacIOOS is on Hawaiʻi and other U.S.-affiliated Pacific Islands throughout Polynesia and Micronesia: American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands,  Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Hawaiʻi, Republic of the Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau. U.S. Minor Outlying Islands are also included.

United States

• Data.gov
  Provides access to "high-value" data of federal agencies.
• GeoPlatform.gov
  GeoPlatform.gov acts as a one-stop shop for geospatial data, with over 160,000 datasets registered in the Data Catalog
• EarthExplorer
  Download aerial photography, satellite imagery, elevation, and landcover datasets.
  • Tutorial: Finding Aerial Photography and Images using EarthExplorer (MIT Libraries)
• National Map
  Download orthoimagery, elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover.
  • Tutorial: How to download data from the National Map Viewer (MIT Libraries)
• GIS Data by State
  Links to state data portals.
• NOAA: Data Access Viewer
  Download imagery, land cover, and elevation (lidar) data.

Regions and Countries

• Afghanistan (USGS)
• Africa Geoportal
• Australia Data and Applications (Australian Government/Geoscience Australia)
• Japan (Harvard University)
• Eurostats GeoData
• China Data Center
• ChinaMap (Harvard University)
  You must register in order to download maps or data.
• Ina-Geoportal (Badan Informasi Geospatial, Indonesia)
• LINZ Data Service (Land Information New Zealand)

Worldwide

• Dynamic World
  "Near realtime 10m resolution global land use land cover dataset, produced using deep learning, freely available and openly licensed. It is the result of a partnership between Google and the World Resources Institute, to produce a dynamic dataset of the physical material on the surface of the Earth. Dynamic World is intended to be used as a data product for users to add custom rules with which to assign final class values, producing derivative land cover maps." -- Dynamic World

• Google Earth Engine
  "Google Earth Engine is a cloud computing platform for processing satellite imagery and other geospatial and observation data. It provides access to a large database of satellite imagery and the computational power needed to analyze those images. Google Earth Engine allows observation of dynamic changes in agriculture, natural resources, and climate using geospatial data from the Landsat satellite program, which passes over the same places on the Earth every sixteen days. Google Earth Engine has become a platform that makes Landsat and Sentinel-2 data easily accessible to researchers in collaboration with the Google Cloud Storage. Google Earth Engine provides a data catalog along with computers for analysis; this allows scientists to collaborate using data, algorithms, and visualizations. The platform provides Python and JavaScript application programming interfaces for making requests to the servers, and includes a graphical user interface for developing applications." -- Wikipedia

• Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC)
  A broad variety of worldwide and country datasets.
• Diva GIS
  Data download by country. Includes administrative areas, inland water, roads, railroads, elevation, land cover, population, and climate.
• Esri Data and Maps
  Publicly accessible layer files for use in ArcGIS. Searchable using box in upper right-hand corner of page.
• GeoData@Tufts
• Natural Earth Data
  Free vector and raster base data at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110m scales for the entire world. Designed to meet the needs of production cartographers. Includes coastlines, continents, small islands, rivers, lakes, reefs, glaciers, bathymetry, administrative boundaries, roads, populated places, disputed areas, airports, railroads, urban areas, and more.
• OpenStreetMap Data
  Free crowd-sourced data. Download data package for a large-scale area. Other data packages downloadable at these sites:
  • Planet OSM
    Regularly-updated copies of the complete OpenStreetMap database
  • Geofabrik
    Regularly-updated extracts of continents, countries, and selected cities.
  • Metro Extracts 
    Extracts for major world cities and their surrounding areas
  • ThinkGeo
    Data packaged by country. Available feature layers and data details.
• UN Data
  Downloadable tabular data for a broad range of indicators at the country level. Data are in various time series.
• The Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX)
  "The Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX) is an open platform for sharing data across crises and organisations. Launched in July 2014, the goal of HDX is to make humanitarian data easy to find and use for analysis." - HDX