This is the "Home" page of the "MAGIS (Maps, Aerial Photos, & GIS)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us Library Catalog Research Tools University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

MAGIS (Maps, Aerial Photos, & GIS)   Tags: data, geography, gis, imagery, maps, place names, places, spatial  

Information about the physical and digital collections in Maps, Aerial Photos, and Geographic Information Systems. Also the GIS Lab and GIS data and imagery sources.
Last Updated: Apr 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/magis Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Maps, Aerial Photos, and Geographic Information Systems



Maps, Aerial Photos, Geographic Information Systems holdings include more than 130,000 print maps and 100,000 aerial photo prints. These collections are being scanned and will be uploaded to our server for 24/7 access. Scanned historic, historical, and topographic maps and aerial photos of Hawaii are available now on our site.

MAGIS staff can help locate and download freely available data for use in one of several GIS software programs, including Esri ArcGIS and ENVI. Our GIS Lab is open to all UH students, staff, researchers, and faculty. We do not purchase commercial GIS data or imagery.

Historical Note: In the October 2004 a flash-flood inundated the print map and aerial photo print collections. A large part of the collections were rescued, cleaned, and returned to the collection and other map libraries donated numerous maps. We replaced readily available aerial photos  in our Hawaii subcollection with digital imagery. A large part of the aerial collection was unique and irreplaceable; the original prints are being cleaned and digitized for our collection. We have also purchased a very large digital collection of maps that is not yet cataloged. Please contact us to inquire about maps and aerial prints in our collection! Many are not cataloged in Voyager and can only be discovered by consulting our staff.

 

Featured Resource

Hawaii Topographical Maps

We are in the process of digitizing our print collection of 1:24,000 topographic maps. You may download several digitized topos for each quad here. Map indexes are available to help you select the quad you need.

For editions that have not yet been digitized, please visit us in the Map Collection.

Please contact us ahead of time so that we can pull maps and have them ready for you.

>>>>  Send email to mapcoll@hawaii.edu or call 956-2524.

 

 

 

Terminology

 

Location, Hours, & Services

Hamilton Library, ground floor

9 am. to 5 pm. Monday-Friday

Maps and Aerial Photo Reference assistance is by appointment only (our collections and services are not self-service). Please complete and  submit this request form.

GIS assistance: student employees may be available to provide very basic assistance to walk-in users. If you need project consultation or help finding data, please complete and submit this form. Check our calendar if you'd like to make an appointment. GIS assistance requiring more than 30 minutes will be billed at $80/hour.

Research fees: UH system faculty, researchers, staff, and students are exempt from research fees. If you are not affiiliated with UH then fees may apply: first hour free, $80/hour thereafter. We will provide you with a time estimate and obtain your consent prior to commencing work that involves fees.

 

MAGIS Contacts

Reference Desk

(808) 956-8230

Janet Dombrowski
Geospatial Information Services Librarian

  jdombrow@hawaii.edu

(808) 956-2524

Nargis Sultana
GIS Coordinator

nargis@hawaii.edu

(808) 956-0833

Ross Togashi
Map Technician

Ross has retired. Please contact Janet Dombrowski, 956-2524; jdombrow@hawaii.edu

Mabel Suzuki
Librarian and Head, Government Documents & Maps

mabel@hawaii.edu

(808) 956-2551

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip