This is the "Home" page of the "Library & Information Science Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us Library Catalog Research Tools University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

Library & Information Science Research Guide   Tags: information science, libraries  

Last Updated: Mar 31, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/lis Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Featured Databases for Library & Information Science

Read this first.  Use the suggested article databases to search for journal articles by subject. Often the full text of the article will be immediately accessible in the database you search. Sometimes, however, the database only provides a citation (article title, journal name, year, etc.) for the article. If you have only a citation, determine if the library has the journal that contains the article you want by following the steps to find journals (in the box to the right).

See Additional resources for LIS to search for articles in cognate disciplines.

  • E-LIS (E-prints in Library and Information Science)
    eLIS is an open access archive for scientific or technical documents, published or unpublished, on Librarianship, Information Science and Technology, and related areas. E LIS aims to further the Open Access philosophy by making available papers in Library and Information Science (LIS) and related fields. It is a free-access international archive, in line with the Free Online Scholarship (FOS) movement and the Eprints movement, based on the Open Archive Initiative (OAI) standards and protocols.
  • Library, Information Science and Technology Abstract (LISTA)
    Library, Information Science and Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
  • Web of Science
    A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1980 to present.

    Watch a video on Cited Reference Searching in Web of Science. (6:17)
  • NoveList  
      
    NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Feature Articles. For school media specialists and teachers there are Standards-Based Thematic Units and Picture Book Extenders, as well as specific teaching guides for using fiction in the classroom.

General Resources

Use the General/Multidisciplinary Resources guide for information on your topic from general encyclopedias and databases, dissertations, and more.

Find Journals

When you have a citation to an article and need to determine if the library has to that journal, search for the journal name. Start with:

Suggest a Resource

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip