Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Journal Article Databases
E-LIS (E-prints in Library and Information Science)
Open access archive for scientific or technical documents, published or unpublished, on Librarianship, Information Science and Technology, and related areas. Aims to further the Open Access philosophy by making available papers in Library and Information Science (LIS) and related fields. It is a free-access international archive, in line with the Free Online Scholarship (FOS) movement and the Eprints movement, based on the Open Archive Initiative (OAI) standards and protocols.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1980 to present.
NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Feature Articles. For school media specialists and teachers there are Standards-Based Thematic Units and Picture Book Extenders, as well as specific teaching guides for using fiction in the classroom.
Premier business and management database with good coverage of information technology. Full text of Information Technology and Libraries, Information Management Journal, Information Today , and Informationweek.
Fulltext of many LIS journals, including Asian Libraries, Aslib Proceedings, Collection Building, Electronic Library, Journal of Documentation, Online Information Review, Program, and more.
Computer Science Databases
Provides access, indexing, and citation data for documents, articles, and other forms of data in computer and information science literature.
The digital library from the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE) includes international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
ERIC (via EBSCOHost)
The national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. ERIC provides access to information about a wide viariety of education-related documents, including the full text of more than 2,200 research digests, and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
Going from Database Record to the Full-Text Article
Most of the Library's subscription databases enable you to connect directly from a citation record to the full-text article online, if available.
-Click on the link in the database record to search UHM electronic collections for the full-text article.
-If , you can search to see if we have it available in print.
-If we do not have the article in print or electronic format, you can to access the Interlibrary Loan online request form. Interlibrary Loan is a free service provided to you by the Library -- the article will be sent to you within a few days as a PDF file.
Some Useful Call Numbers
Books in UH Libraries are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers.
Library and Information Science call numbers start with Z
Cybernetics (bionics, a.i., information theory, etc.) -- Q300 - Q390
Computer Science -- QA75.5 - QA76.95
Computer Networks -- TK5105 - TK5105.9
Computer Engineering -- TK7885 - TK7895
Dissertations & Theses
Large collection of dissertations and theses via Proquest. Full text: 1997 - present; Citations: 1743 - present.
Need More Help?
Sci/Tech Librarians Email: