This is the "Home" page of the "China Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us Library Catalog Research Tools University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

China Studies   Tags: asia, china, chinese, east asia, hong kong, macao, taiwan  

Provides a starting point for China Studies, including resources to find books, articles, etc.
Last Updated: Mar 6, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/content.php?pid=134659 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases

Chinamaxx Digital Libraries for E-Books 超星数字图书馆

Full Text e-books, more than 700 titles, may now be viewed with either the proprietary SSReader or IE browser (with Simplified Chinese Language Support package installed).

China Academic Journals (use simplified Chinese to search articles published in China)

Subscription includes 6 series:

  • Literature/History/Philosophy: 1915-
  • Politics/Military Affairs/Law: 1915-
  • Economy & Management: 1915 -
  • Education/Social Sciences: 1915-
  • Medicine/Hygiene: 2000-
  • Century Journals Project, 1950-1993

Chinese Reference Ebooks -- Licensed for UHM use only

Gu Jin Tu Shu Ji Cheng 古今圖書集成

This database contains all the most important classics of the ancient China through the Qing dynasty. It is divided into six main categories, 32 sections, and 6,117 sub-sections, and each sub-section contains 10 parts. Topics of interest include astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economy, art, education, agriculture, medicine, etc.

People's Daily 人民日报: 1946-present

This database brings you the latest news dispatches of policy information and resolutions of the Chinese Government and major domestic news and international news releases from China.

Scripta Sinica Database 漢藉電子文獻資料庫

Scripta Sinica Database is a compilation of more than 500 titles and 350,000,000 characters of materials pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history, including "Veritable Records of the Ming Dynasty" (Ming shi lu) and "Veritable Records of the Qing Dynasty" (Qing shi lu). The database is developed by the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, Republic of China.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection, 1832-1953

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Other Resources by Subjects

 

China Studies Research Guide

Use this guide to find books, articles, reference sources and more for research in China Studies. The guide focuses on online resources, which can be accessed either within the library of remotely. In addition to online resources, selected print titles may be included. The guide lists basic resources an does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for China Studies research. For additional resources consult other relevant subject guides, the Hawaii Voyager Library Catalog, OneSearch Manao or the China Studies librarian, Kuang-tien (K.T.) Yao.

 

Special Collection

Lian Huan Hua 连环画 Collection -- Chinese Picture Story Books

The Library has collected more than 150 titles of lian huan hua that were published mostly during the Cultural Revolution, particularly between 1971-1976, when the publication of lian huan hua was rare and difficult at that time.

List of Lian Huan Hua 连环画 Collection

San Cai Tu Hui 三才图会. 1609.

The San Cai Tu Hui encyclopedia is one of approximately 120,000 volumes of stitched-bound Chinese books. Most of the books were printed in the Ming (1368-1644) and early Qing (1644-1911) periods. San Cai Tu Hui literally means "Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Three Powers,' which are Heaven, Earth, and Man. The collection deals with all aspects of Chinese culture, but is particularly strong in medicine, Buddhism, history, and literature. Divided into 14 main subject divisions, sub-divided into many topics. Contains many illustrations, diagrams, and portraits. It is the source of most of the stylized portraits of such personages as the Yellow Emperor, Confucius, and the ancient emperors that are found in many reference books, textbooks, and tourist manuals.

China Studies

Profile Image
Kuang-tien Yao 姚張光天
Contact Info
Hamilton Library
Asia Collection, Room 410
2550 McCarthy Mall
University of Hawai'i at Manoa
Honolulu HI 96822

Phone: 808-956-2312
Fax: 808-956-2318
Send Email
 

Asia Collection

Asia Collection

Reference Desk Hours

Monday - Friday: 10:00 - 5:00

Sunday: 1:00 - 5:00

Closed Saturdays and holidays

(All Library Hours)

 

Link to Center for Chinese Studies at UHM

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip