University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Oral History of Japanese Studies Scholars 1960s-80s: List

The list of names of Japanese studies scholars interviewed by Dr. George Akita, Professor Emeritus of UHM History Department.

japan collection home

Nearly 200 cassette tapes were donated to the Japan Collection by Dr. George Akita, Professor Emeritus of the UHM History Department. These are records of his interviews conducted with Japanese studies scholars from the 1960s to 1980s. The tapes were reformatted to DVDs and are available onsite for research.

How to request the DVDs

The Oral History of Japanese Studies Scholars DVDs are available at the Japan Collection, 4th Floor in Hamilton Library, by appointment only. Please submit your request at least 2 weeks in advance BEFORE your travel plan to Hawaii is made.

Access & Request: Japan Special Collection Access Policy

Phone: (808) 956-8116 (Asia General)

Fax: (808) 956-2318

japan collection home Japan Collection Home

Quick Links

Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog
Image of a voyager logo
 
 One Search Manoa 
Image of one search manoa

Japan Studies LibGuides
Logo of Lib Guides
 
Okinawa Collection (Blog) 
Okinawa Collection Blog

UHM Library Okinawa Collection
:
As of July 12, 2017 (HST), the site is under construction (unavailable).
New site will be announced soon.
 
Okinawa Special Collection

 
UHM Center for Okinawan Studies
Center for Okinawan Studies

UHM Center for Japan Studies

Center for Japanese Studies

Asia Collection

asia home

Asia Collection
Reference Desk Hours
Monday - Friday 10:00-4:00
Closed Saturdays, Sundays and holidays
(All library hours)

Email Reference

asiaref@hawaii.edu
Telephone Reference (Asia-related questions only)

956-8116 Monday - Friday 10:00am-4:00pm

 

 

 

Last Name A-H

Last Name First Name MI Int. Date
Allen George C 06/29/77
Allinson Gary D 07/06/79
Anderson Ronald S 02/08/80
Anthony David F 08/03/78
Aqua Ronald   02/22/76
Araki James T 06/15/81
Baerwald Hans   ?
Bailey Jackson   03/29/76
Banno Junji   08/11/80
Barrett William H 02/20/76
Bartholomew James   08/27/77
Baxter James   ?
Beardsley Richard   03/05/76
Beasley William   06/01/77
Beekman Allan E 09/12/80
Beer Lawrence W 08/06/79
Berlin Zeke   08/14/80
Beyer Gordon   07/02/83
Beyer Gordon   01/04/76
Bolitho Harold   06/29/77
Borgen Robert   08/09/80
Borton Hugh   01/10/76
Bowen Roger W 06/08/82
Boyle John H 01/08/83
Brown Delmer   08/22/77
Brown Keith   11/22/76
Brown Sidney D ?
Burks Ardath   10/22/76
Butow Robert JC 06/01/88
Caiger John   04/29/77
Campbell Alan T 07/18/82
Campbell Alan T 07/18/82
Campbell John C 07/09/80
Cary Otis   06/16/82
Cody Billy J 09/03/79
Cole Robert E ?
Conant Ellen  P 12/02/85
Cooper Michael   08/23/77
Craig Albert M 10/22/77
Curtis Gerald L 07/26/83
Dalia Albert A 09/26/79
DeVos George   ?
Dingman Roger V 12/15/82
Draeger Donn   11/14/75
Duus Peter   07/18/77
Earns Lane R 12/22/85
Ericson Mark   06/15/78
Fairbank John K 08/29/77
Franz Michael   12/13/77
Fukuda Naomi   06/02/80
Gen An-sei   07/04/80
Gerstle Andrew   08/27/77
Ginsburg Norton S 02/22/83
Gluck Carol   11/30/77
Goble Andrew E 05/05/82
Goff Janet E 12/29/82
Goodman Grant   07/24/78
Gow Ian   07/06/80
Gresser Julian   02/07/78
Hackett Roger F 10/22/81
Hadley Eleanor   06/20/82
Hall Ivan P 07/26/79
Hall John   06/27/77
Halloran Richard   02/08/78
Hamilton Lee   06/28/80
Hanley Susan   04/06/76
Hardacre Helen   07/01/85
Harrison John   03/06/76
Hata Ikuhiko   09/07/78
Havens Thomas R 08/04/78
Hayami Akira   ?
Hellman Donald C 09/17/81
Henke Lewis   1974
Hopper Helen   01/16/80
Horii Gerstle Gertrude   03/24/80
Howes John F 07/05/82
Huddleston Jackson N 07/08/82
Huffman James L 08/13/83
Humphrey Aleck   06/28/80

Last Name I-R

Last Name First Name MI Int. Date
Inada Kenneth K 04/23/80
Ito Takashi 07/01/78
Ito Yahiko 03/27/81
Ivanov Vladimir I 10/09/80
Jansen Marius 07/02/77
Jansen Marius 04/05/83
Jansen Marius 04/12/83
Jansen Marius 04/19/83
Jansen Marius 04/26/83
Jansen Marius 05/03/83
Jansen Marius 05/10/83
Johnson Chalmers A 07/08/81
Kakemoto Paul ?
Kamikawa Rikuzo 08/05/79
Kearney Reginald 03/25/77
Keene Donald 03/14/79
Keene Donald 03/01/77
Kennedy Malcom D 06/16/77
Kinzley William D 07/16/80
Kleinjans Everett 11/06/80
Know Hon Edgar 09/17/80
Langdon Frank  07/02/80
Langston Eugene 08/29/77
Lebra Joyce C 01/15/82
Lensen George 05/13/78
Levin Norman 04/07/76
Levine Solomon 01/10/82
Liu Mei-shu 08/08/79
Lock  Margaret M 06/30/82
Lockwood William 01/12/76
Lu David J 06/26/81
Magistretti William 12/28/79
Makarov Alexender 04/23/77
Mass Jeffrey P 10/30/81
Masui Jun'nosuke 06/20/78
McNeill William H 03/24/80
McNelly Theodore H 07/21/77
Meyer John ?
Minichiello Sharon 07/21/79
Mitchell Richard 03/26/77
Miyake Masaki 03/02/80
Moore Ray A 07/30/81
Moos Felix 07/31/78
Moriyama Alan T 06/17/81
Morley James ?
Morris Dixon 06/21/79
Nagano Pat  M 08/18/80
Nakamura George 07/06/78
Nakamura James 03/07/76
Nathan John 07/18/77
Nishimoto Clyde T 07/29/81
Nishimura Iwao 08/25/81
Nolte Sharon H 08/05/83
Nomura Gail 09/14/78
Norbeck Edward 05/10/77
Notehelfer Fred 08/08/79
Odo Franklin S 03/03/78
Ohkawa Gail ?
Ohnuki Emiko 02/14/79
Okimoto Daniel I 06/17/82
Okubo  Genji 11/02/81
Olson Larry 07/13/77
Oshima Harry 05/04/76
Passin Herb 07/22/77
Peattie Mark R 11/01/85
Pempel T.J. 07/12/82
Petrov D 04/23/77
Pierson John D 08/08/81
Pittau Joseph 06/18/80
Pyle Kenneth B 09/13/81
Rawski Evelyn ?
Rawski Thomas ?
Richie Donald 08/28/77
Rohlen Thomas 05/08/78
Rubinger Richard 10/16/81

Last Name S-Y

Last Name First Name MI Int. Date
Scalapino Robert   08/09/78
Schultz-Young Linda   11/23/81
Shinoda Minoru   08/18/81
Shinohara Miyohei   04/22/79
Slavinsky Boris N 12/17/76
Smethurst Richard   03/26/77
Smith Henry   01/20/76
Smith Robert   12/21/78
Sneider David A 05/28/80
Staubitz Richard L 08/02/80
Steele Marian W 08/05/80
Steslicke William E 06/06/82
Stockwin J.A.A   06/26/81
Storry Richard G 06/27/77
Tahara Mildred   06/20/81
Takagi Kiyoko   07/30/79
Takane Masaaki   06/01/77
Takaya Ted T 08/06/80
Takayoshi Matsuo   03/20/80
Takemoto Paul   ?
Tam Yue-him   06/13/83
Tanabe George   07/10/85
Tiedemann Arthur E 12/01/85
Tipton Elise K 09/06/79
Topekha   04/21/77
Totten George O 06/30/80
Uhalley Stephen   08/11/78
Varley Paul   03/08/76
Varley Paul   ?
Vogel Ezra   03/25/77
Waters Neil L 07/28/80
Waycie William J 09/12/79
Webb Hershel   ?
Wilson Sandra   06/25/80
Wiswell Ella   05/09/78
Wray Harry   07/19/79
Yamamura Kozo   ?
Yamasaki Toyoko   12/12/78
Yoshitsu Michael M 05/19/83
Young Michael K 06/13/80
Yun Byon-ro   07/28/79