Library catalogs+e-booksBook sellers
Dictionaries 辞典・字典Specialized Subject Dictionaries
ArtBiographical InformationGender & Women's Studies 日本の女性問題GeographyHistoryJapanese Literature 国文学Religion
This is the "Home" page of the "Japan Studies Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
chat, email, telephone library research tools library catalog login my account

The guide provides resources to assist your research on Japan.
Last Updated: May 8, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/japan Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Quick Links

UHM Japan Collection Home

UHM Okinawa Collection Home

Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog

libguides logoLibguides Subject: Japan
cjs

cos

Library Guides (Libguides) to Japanese & Okinawan research

Introducation to Okinawan Studies
Provides resources to start research on Ryukyu/Okinawa

DVD title index of the Uchinanchu Worldwide TV series
See each episode title of the 206 Uchinanchu Worldwide TV programs

Japan Studies E-Resources
List of e-resources relevant to Japan studies and useful hints for successful ILL/DD

 

Welcome

This Library Guide has been developed to support your research on Japan at the UHM Library. Sources with "UHM Only" notation means that you need to log in the UHM Library system with your ID and Password to use the sources. Hope you will find the information of a wide range of resources on Japan helpful.

 

Events/News

Free trial access to Fuzoku Gaho 風俗画報 from May 9-June 8
http://micro189.lib3.hawaii.edu/ezproxy/details.php?dbId=58067

Click on "Enter" you can search keyword for images and articles. Also the Library holds the different edition in print

The full papers, PowerPoint files, and videos of the Symposium, Interpreting Parades and Processions of Edo Japan are now available: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/edoparades/symposium_papers

The Center for Japanese Studies' News & Events.

 

FAQs

Where is your collection located?
The general materials are integrated into the East (Japanese language) and Asia (English & other western languages) Collections of Hamilton Library on the 3rd and 4th floors. Hamilton Library's floor plans are available here.
Please use the Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog to identify the resources you need.

I heard about your special collections. What are they? How can I access?
The Japan Collection holds the following special collections housed in the Asia Special Collections room. All the items are not circulating. The Japan Collection staff retrieves materials prior to your visit. Please read the access policy to make an appointment in advance.

Hawaii Japanese Language School Textbooks Collection ハワイ日本語学校教科書コレクション: over 600 Japanese language school textbooks used in Hawaii

Hawaii Karate Museum Collection 布哇空手博物館コレクション: over 200 materials on Karate and martial arts collected by the Hawaii Karate Museum

John Roberts Clippings: clippings on a wide range of political and economic topics concerning Japan developed by a journalist

Kaizawa Kabuki Manuscripts English translations of famous Kabuki plays during the Allied Occupation period. As part of the US censorship on Japanese publishing and perfoming arts, all the Kakubi play manuscripts were translated into English for the censorship. Mr. Stanley Kaizawa, a Japanese American Nisei from Hawaii was a team member of the censorhip and translated from Japanese to English. All the manuscripts were digitaized.

Kajiyama Collection 梶山文庫: over 7,000 materials collected by the late novelist Toshiyuki Kajiyama 梶山季之

Oliver Statler Collection オリバー・スタットラーコレクション: Oliver Statler's archival materials

Sakamaki/Hawley Collection サカマキ・宝玲コレクション: over 2,000 items on Ryukyu and Okinawa collected by Shunzo Sakamaki and Frank Hawley

Satsuma Collection 薩摩コレクション: Nealy 800 photo copies and late Professor of Kagoshima University, Haraguchi Torao's  原口虎雄 (1914-1986) manuscrips of primary source materials on Satsuma/Shimazu domain. Prof. Haragushi's collections so called "Dokosanbo (童虎山房)" were donated to the Amami Museum in 2006.

Takazawa Collection 高沢文庫: over 50,000 books and archival materials on Japan's social movement collection by Koji Takazawa

Uchima Family Lineage Document 内間家系図(毛姓家譜) 18th century official family lineage document sealed by the Kindom of the Ryukyus.

When are you open?
General collection is open during the Library hours. http://library.manoa.hawaii.edu/about/hours.html

Special collections are open by appointment.

Japan Studies Guide

Profile Image
Tokiko Y. Bazzell
Contact Info
Asia Collection Department, University of Hawaii at Manoa Library, 2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu, Hawaii, 96822, USA
Send Email
 

Asia Collection

Asia Collection Home Site

Reference Desk Hours
Monday - Friday 10:00-4:00
Closed Saturdays, Sundays and holidays
(All library hours)

Email Reference

asiaref@hawaii.edu

Telephone Reference
(Asia-related questions only)
956-8116
Monday - Friday 10:00am-4:00pm

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip