Online Film Resources

The photo above is from the film A Walk Through the Past (Part II), which was produced by Micronesian Seminar, and is freely available online (to view the video, click here or follow the Micronesian Seminar link below for a listing of all titles available online). Mouse over links for description -- items marked with an asterisk (**) are only available to UH-Manoa students, faculty and staff, with log-in required. In addition to these online films, numerous DVDs and VHS titles are available through Sinclair Library's Wong Audio/Visual Center; all are included in the library's Voyager online catalog.)
Other Online Resources
Mouse over link for description.
- Experiencing War: Stories From the Veterans History Project
- Government Documents - War Department, Navy Department, National Military Establishment, and Department of Defense
- The Hawaii Nissei Story: Americans of Japanese Ancestry During World War II
- Maps of Australia and Oceania: The Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
Basic Reference Books
(map credit: Pacific Theater, 1941-1945, War In The Pacific National Historical Park [Guam ])
Click on the highlighted titles below to see where you can find copies of these books in the Library. Check Locations! Items in the Voyager catalog marked UH Manoa: Hamilton Pacific Reference or UH Manoa: Hamilton Hawaiian Reference can be pulled directly off the reference shelves in the Hawaiian & Pacific reading room. For items marked UH Manoa Hawaiian Collection or UH Manoa Pacific Collection, request retrieval through the "Get This Item" link in Voyager. (Click here for instructions on how to request books using "Get This Item.")
For Hawaiian and Pacific research, all of the same tools exist as for any other kind of research. There are region- and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, histories, newspapers, academic journals and etc. Two very good starting points for general information:
Image Collections
![]()
These image collections cover World War II and the years immediately following, to document both the war and its aftermath in Hawaii and the Pacific. All are scanned from physical images held by the Pacific Collection or the University Archives. The image above is a poster from the War In the Pacific digital collection (see link below).


Loading...
