Home - Government Documents - Environmental Protection Agency - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Contact the EPA

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) was created in 1970. Its mission is to develop and enforce regulations related to environmental protection.

National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
Access to EPA digital publications and order printed copies of EPA publications.
EPA National Library Network
Search the EPA's library catalog to find documents available in EPA libraries. Documents may be requested through interlibrary loan.
NTIS technical reports search
Search for EPA technical reports available from NTIS covering 1964-present. Searching the database is free, but you have to create an account. The Government Documents Collection has copies of many of these reports, and we can obtain others through interlibrary loan.
EPA Science Inventory
Database of EPA scientific and technical information products.
Science.gov - Environment
Subject gateway and search engine for government information about the environment and environmental quality.
Georgia Tech Library
Georgia Tech Library is a Center of Excellence for EPA, NASA, and PTO. It collects the documents of these agencies comprehensively.
Environmental Impact Statement Library
The EPA's EIS Library contains records of all EISs received by EPA since 1987, EPA comment letters on EISs since 2001, and
electronic (PDF) versions of EISs received by EPA since October 2012
EPA Geospatial Applications
These tools allow users to explore data about water, air quality, EPA compliance inspections, and other topics in their local areas.

Most EPA documents have been digitized and can be found in National Service Center for Environmental Publications or in the HathiTrust database. Government Documents holds an extensive collection of EPA publications in print and microfiche. Most print publications are listed in OneSearch, but microfiche has not been inventoried, so please ask for assistance if you are having trouble finding a report. Our holdings include the following series:

102 monitor
Call Number: GOVD EP 1.76:
Air pollution abstracts
Call Number: GOVD EP 4.11:
Pesticides abstracts
Call Number: GOVD EP 5.9:
Water pollution control research series
Call Number: EP 1.16:
Solid waste management series
Call Number: GOVD EP 1.17:
Oil pollution abstracts
Call Number: GOVD EP 1.25/2:
Environmental health effects research
Call Number: GOVD EP 1.23/4:
Scientific and technical assessments reports
Call Number: GOVD EP 1.23/7:

We can help you find laws and regulations related to EPA and environmental protection as well as Congressional hearings about the EPA's funding and activities. We also have a variety of general publications, CD-ROMs, pamphlets, and other EPA materials. We can also obtain documents from the EPA for you through interlibrary loan.

EPA publications and related documents
Brochure for EPA employees about our collections

EPA data on Data.gov
Outdoor air quality data
Envirofacts
Gateway for data on air quality and air pollution, water pollution, solid waste, toxics, and other topics.
Compliance and fuel economy data
Environmental dataset gateway

Information Resources of the Environmental Protection Agency
The EPA’s National Library Network consists of 25 libraries and repositories located in the Agency’s offices, research centers, and specialized laboratories. The Library Network serves the needs of EPA staff and the public by using the latest information technologies and innovative services to acquire, organize, and deliver timely access to information. Areas of focus include basic and applied sciences, management, legal information, and other special topics. This presentation covers several aspects of EPA library collections, including the EPA National Library Catalog, the National Service Center for Environmental Publications, epa.gov, and some information about the EPA publication process
EPA Channel on YouTube
The EPA produces videos about pollution, green living, water quality, and many other topics.

EPA in Hawaii
The EPA's Region 9 - Pacific Southwest Office is located in San Francisco. Region 9 includes Hawai‘i. However, EPA operates a Pacific Islands Office in Honolulu.

EPA Pacific Islands Office

300 Ala Moana Blvd., Rm. 5-152, Box 50003, Honolulu, HI 96850

808-541-2710