Research Guides: Horticulture: Selected Web Resources

Agricultural Statistics

The U.S. Department of Agriculture conducts the Census of Agriculture every five years. 2012 is the most recent year for which data is available. The next census of agriculture will be conducted in 2017.

Most states issue statistics about crops and livestock that are important. in the state. For example, the Hawai`i Department of Agriculture issues reports about specialty crops such as cacao, taro, and coffee.

Other Crop Web Sites

Foliage Plants
Florida Greenhouse Vegetable Production Handbook
Agroforestree Database
Native Plant Network Propagation Protocol Database
(Native Plant Network) Provides information on how to propagate native plants of North America (Canada, Mexico, and US). It includes Hawaii and other Pacific Islands.
Fruits of Warm Climates
Handbook of Energy Crops
Vegetable Production Guides
(Department of Horticulture, University of Oregon) These guides cover many vegetables commonly grown in Hawaii.
American Orchid Society
The "Culture Sheets" section provides access to information on a wide range of orchid genera.
Family Guide for Fruits and Seeds
Floriculture Infosearch
Herbicide Symptoms
(University of California, IPM) Searchable database of herbicide damage symptoms. Search parameters include mode of action, chemistry, herbicide, plant and symptom.
Tropical Nursery Manual: A Guide to Starting and Operating a Nursery for Native and Traditional Plants

Statistics and Data for Hawaii

Taro growing in pondfields on Kauai Island. Photograph by Jasperdo on Flickr, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0. Source.

Statistics of Hawaii Agriculture/Hawaii Annual Statistical Bulletin
(National Agricultural Statistics Service, USDA) The Hawaii Annual Statistics Bulletin is a historical five-year series for all major crops, livestock, and related data. It also includes county data. All of the files are available in pdf format. Aquaculture reports are listed under livestock. Access to reports from 2007 to present.
Hawaii Agriculture Statistical Publications
(National Agricultural Statistics Service, USDA) Provides access to a variety of statistics and reports on farms, crops, and livestock in Hawaii. Prepared in cooperation with the Hawaii State Department of Agriculture. Some reports in the On-line Reports Archive are available back to 1996.
Hawaii Department of Agriculture Annual Reports
(State of Hawaii Department of Agriculture) Annual reports from 2002 through 2009. Reports for 2007 - 2009 include the Statistics of Hawaii Agriculture.
State of Hawaii Data Book
(DBEDT, State of Hawaii) The official summary of statistics on the social, economic, and political organization of the State of Hawaii. Available electronically from 2000.
Data Center on Hawaii's Aging
(Center on the Family, CTAHR) Provides organized access to a collection of statistics and publications related to Hawaii's aging population. For the books or full-text journal articles cited in the Center's publications, Use Hawaii Voyager to see if they are available at the UH Manoa Library.
Hawaii Census Data
(DBEDT, State of Hawaii) Official summary of statistics on the social, economic, and political organization of Hawaii; access to Data Books from 2000 to current.
Hawaii Fact Sheet
(Economic Research Service, USDA) The state fact sheets cover population, income, education, employment, farm characteristics, farn financial indicators, and top commodities and exports.
American Community Survey: Hawaii
Includes "Highlights," "Census Tract Summary Tables," and "Hawaii Geographic Area Profiles". Geographic Area Profiles include social, economic, housing, and demographic characteristics with downloadable files in PDF and Excel formats.

Hawaii and Pacific Crop Web Resources

Native Plants Hawaii
(University of Hawaii) The goal of Native Plants Hawaii is to create and establish a single, comprehensive and searchable online knowledgebase of endemic and indigenous plants of Hawaii.
Species Profiles for Pacific Island Agroforestry
(Traditional Tree Initiative) From the book "Traditional Trees of Pacific Islands." Species profiles for a wide range of native and traditional trees grown in Pacific island gardens. Profiles are in pdf format and include information on botany, traditional uses, and cultivation.
Specialty Crops for Pacific Island Agroforestry
Farm and Forest Production and Marketing profiles for 32 crops include information for crop development from horticulture and botany to post-harvest processing and opportunities for local value-added processing.
Plant Pono
(Coordinating Group on Alien Pest Species) This Web site has information on known invasive plants in Hawaii and the Pacific and brief information on non-invasive alternatives. It also provides a search interface for the Hawaii-Pacific Weed Risk Assessments.
Traditional Pacific Island Crops
(AgNIC, UH Manoa) Provides links to Web resources that deal with the production, marketing, and research aspects of bananas and plantains, betel nut, breadfruit, cassava, coconut, kava, noni, pandanus, sugarcane, sweet potato, taro and other edible aroids, and yam.
HawaiiFruit's YouTube Channel
Videos about producing and marketing tropical fruits in Hawaii.
Weed Risk Assessments for Hawaii and Pacific Islands
Adding Value to Locally Grown Crops in Hawai‘i: A Guide for Small Farm Enterprise Innovation
(Agroforestry Net) Download a PDF file of this 58-page book desinged to help growers add value to all aspects of their farm enterprise.
Cover Crops and Green Manures for Hawaii
(CTAHR, Sustainable and Organic Agriculture Program) Extensive profiles of these plants in Hawaii; covers everything from seed selection to harvesting.
Gardens of Oceania
(Walter, Annie, et al. 2006, ACIAR) Gardens of Oceania summarises available knowledge about numerous food plants with commercial potential. This page has links to PDF files of the entire contents of this publication.
Southwest Climate Hub
(USDA) The Southwest Climate Hub assists farmers, ranchers and forest landowners in coping with the impacts of climate variability. These impacts include extreme drought, wildfire, tree mortality, increased temperatures and less available water.
Seed Variety Selection Tool for the Hawaiian Islands
(Hawai‘i Public Seed Initiative) In an effort to assist small-scale food producers in Hawai‘i select vegetable varieties best suited for their specific locations, HPSI is pleased to offer the Hawai‘i Seed Variety Selection Tool. This tool consists of two parts: a map of climate zones and a database of vegetable crop varieties.

General Horticulture Web Resources

JSTOR Global Plants
(UH Manoa access only) Global Plants "features more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world."

Crop Genebank Knowledge Base
Fruit and Vegetable Prices
(Economic Research Service, USDA) ERS estimates average prices for 153 commonly consumed fresh and processed fruits and vegetables. Reported estimates include each product's average retail price per pound and per edible cup equivalent.
HORTIVAR - Cultivars Performance Database
(FAO, UN) Searchable database on performances of horticulture cultivars in relation to agro-ecological conditions, cultivation practices, the occurrence of pests and diseases and timing of the production.
Phytozome
(Joint Genome Institute and the Center for Integrative Genomics) Phytozome provides access to thirty-one sequenced and annotated green plant genomes which have been clustered into gene families at eleven evolutionarily significant nodes.
Postharvest Produce Facts
(UC Postharvest Technology Research and Information Center) Produce Facts summarizes the latest recommendations for maintaining postharvest quality of horticultural perishables.
School Gardening in the Early 1900s Through Today
(Michigan State University Libraries) This LibGuide provides organized access to primary source materials and information about gardening within K-12 schools in the early 20th century through today.
APHIS Manuals & Guidelines
CABI Data Sheets - Invasive Species Compendium
JRC GMO-Amplicons
(Joint Research Centre, European Union Reference Laboratory for GM Food and Feed) JRC GMO-Amplicons is a nucleotide database of putative GMO-related sequences, obtained by PCR simulation screening of public nucleotide sequence databanks, including patents and available whole plant genomes.
PLANTS Image Gallery