Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mouse over link for description. The first two items below (Hawaiʻi
Newspaper Index and Hawaii-Pacific Journal Index) will help you find citations to articles published in other newspapers and magazines, but do not provide full-text articles themselves. The rest of the links below offer varying levels of full-text access. In most cases, full text articles from Hawaiʻi-based news sources are only available from the late 1990s forward--for earlier news articles, you will need to access the physical publication (either in its original form, or in microfilm; for more on this, see the "Print Sources" box at right.) Also keep in mind that websites for the various local newspapers (Honolulu Weekly, Ka Wai Ola and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin/Honolulu Advertiser web archives), do not have every story that was run in the printed versions.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
An index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaii and the Pacific. The HPJI covers all subject areas, and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. For more on how to use the HPJI, click on the "Research Strategies" tab above.
Civil Beat (online newspaper)
This online-only news source has published several articles about Pacific Islanders in Hawaiʻi, most notably on the Micronesian communities. In addition to the news articles, it is useful to look at the reader comments that follow each story, as they can be indicative of public attitudes.
Honolulu Star-Advertiser website
Use the Star-Advertiser website in conjunction with the Hawaii Newspaper Index to find material on specific communities in Hawaii.
Honolulu Star-Bulletin and Honolulu Advertiser web archives
Use this link to access articles that were originally posted on either the Honolulu Star-Bulletin or Honolulu Advertiser websites prior to their June 7, 2010 merger. For the Star-Bulletin, online content covers from March 18, 1996, to June 6, 2010; for the Advertiser, from March 15, 2001 to June 6, 2010. Beginning June 7, 2010, the papers merged both in print and online.
Ka Wai Ola o Oha website
The newspaper of the Office of Hawaiian Affairs, which sometimes prints stories on Pacific Islander communities living in the Islands. Issues from 2008 to present are available online (for earlier years, see link to the print holdings in the library, in box at right.)
Pacific News Sources (links to other sites)
A collection of links to a wide range of Pacific news sources (print, radio and television) that are produced within the Pacific region itself.
Other Online Resources
Mouse over link for description.
1980 census of population. Asian and Pacific Islander population by state, 1980. Supplementary report by
Call Number: E184.O6 C4 1983
Publication Date: 1983
Available online here
This report by the U.S. Census Bureau is an important source of information about Pacific Islander populations in the United States in 1980, including Hawaiʻi. The report is important because it gives figures for ethnic groups (including Tahitians, Tongans and Fijians) that are usually only reported as "other Pacific Islander" during this time period. (The numbers are "based on samples," and so not a complete count, but in many cases the only available figure.
2006-2008 American Community Survey Data (statistics on Micronesians in Hawaiʻi)
Statistical information on Micronesians in Hawaiʻi. Does not break down by specific island groups, but still useful to see how Micronesians as a whole are faring in the Islands (includes information on employment, education and so forth). Requires Excel software.
2008-2010 American Community Survey Data (Statistics on Micronesians in Hawaii)
Starting on Page 15, this document includes a wide range of statistics for the following groups: "Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander"; "Polynesian Only"; "Native Hawaiian Only"; "Samoan Only" and "Micronesian Only." Broad categories of "Polynesian" and "Micronesian" are not further defined.
Maps of Australia and Oceania: The Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
A wide variety of downloadable Pacific maps, collected by the University of Texas at Austin Library.
Micronesian Community Network
The website/blog for the Micronesian Community Network, a Hawaiʻi-based organization, has a wide array of information and online publications aimed at Micronesians living in Hawaiʻi
Pacific Regional Information System
This site gathers publications, reports and statistics from 22 Pacific countries and territories, and is an excellent one-stop source for current statistical information.
State of Hawaii Data Book
This annual publication provides a wide variety of statistical information. Section 1 (Population) and Section 2 (Vital Statistics and Health) contain information broken down by race. (The U.S. Census only counts a few specific races when it comes to Pacific Islanders in Hawaiʻi; in most cases the counts will be for broader groups -- i.e., Micronesians.)
UH Mānoa Facts & Statistics
Use this link to research statistics on Pacific Islander student enrollment and so forth.
UHM Pacific digital image collections
Click on the highlighted titles below to see where you can find copies of these newspapers and books in the Library. Check Locations! Items in the Voyager catalog marked UH Mānoa: Hamilton Pacific Reference or UH Mānoa: Hamilton Hawaiian Reference can be pulled directly off the reference shelves in the Hawaiian & Pacific reading room. For items marked UH Mānoa Hawaiian Collection or UH Mānoa Pacific Collection, request retrieval through the "Get This Item" link in OneSearch.
Newspaper articles are a major source of information on current issues facing different communities, and also sometimes include hard-to-gather information such as population estimates for communities not reported in U.S. census data. Below are links to the library cataloging records for Hawaiʻinewspapers that often run stories about Pacific Islanders. To search the contents of these papers, you either need to use the Honolulu Star-Advertiser, Honolulu Star Bulletin and Honolulu Advertiser (back issues) link (see the News Sources box at left); the Hawaiʻi Newspaper Index (for issues of the Honolulu Star-Bulletin and Honolulu Advertiser) or the Hawaii-Pacific Journal Index (for Honolulu Weekly and Ka Wai Ola o Oha).You can also search some of the contents of these papers at their respective websites -- links to all of these resources are in the "News Sources" box at left.
Call Number: MICROFILM V90001
The most recent issues (roughly for the last six months or so) will be available in print, either in the first floor newspapers stacks or in the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections. Issues older than six months are generally only available on microfilm.
Honolulu star-bulletin by
Call Number: MICROFILM V91258
All issues of the Star-Bulletin are available on microfilm. For issues prior to July 1980 see: MICROFILM S90015. For issues between June 1980 and March 2001, see: MICROFILM V90002. For all others, use V91258.
Ka Wai Ola o Oha
Call Number: MICROFILM V51092
DU624.65 .W25 (Hawaiian Collection)
The newspaper of the Office of Hawaiian Affairs. To search contents, use the Hawaii-Pacific Journal Index (see link in "News Sources" box at left.) The Hawaiian Collection has a complete set of the newspapers in print; they are also available on the first floor in microfilm. Papers from 2008 to present are also available online (see link in "News Sources" box.)
Basic Reference Books
For Hawaiian and Pacific research, all of the same tools exist as for
any other kind of research. There are region- and subject-specific
dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, histories, newspapers,
academic journals and etc. Two very good starting points for general
The Far East and Australasia by
Call Number: DS 502 .F37
Annual publication with detailed overview information (history, geography, population and economic statistics) for every country in the Pacific, including U.S. affiliated (Hawaiʻi, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands and American Samoa). This can be a useful resource when researching conditions in the country of origin for Pacific Islanders living in Hawaiʻi. Most recent editions are located in the 1st floor reference section and in the Asia reference collection on the 4th floor, as well as in Hawaiian and Pacific Collections reference shelves.
The Pacific Islands: an encyclopedia by
Call Number: DU17 .P3 2000
Publication Date: 2000
A very good source for a wide variety of information on all aspects of life in the Pacific, from pre-contact to present day. See pages 106-188 for an overview of the Pacific diaspora.