Research Guides: Soil Science: Find Articles

Selected Journal Article Databases

CABI Digital Library (CAB Abstracts) 1910 - present: Citations with abstracts to international literature in the agricultural sciences, including tropical agriculture and ecology. This database covers journals, monographs, conference proceedings, theses, technical reports, patents, and other sources, most with English-language abstracts. UHM Library CAB Direct LibGuide
Web of Science via Web of Science 1980 - present: Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. Allows citation searching as well as searching by topic or author. UHM Library Web of Science LibGuide
SciFinder-n 1907 - present: SciFinder Scholar provides access to Chemical Abstracts from 1907 to the present and covers all areas of chemistry and chemical engineering. You must create a free personal account to use the Web version of SciFinder Scholar. UHM Library SciFinder LibGuide

PubAg (National Agricultural Library, USDA) PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivered over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citations. Open access; no login required.
ASCE Civil Engineering Database 1975 - present: Citations with abstracts for articles in all American Society for Civil Engineering journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, and other publications.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library A searchable database of ASTM standards, active and historical, in HTML and PDF formats, and ASTM journals, symposia, and monographs.

AGRICOLA via EBSCOhost 1970 - current: Citations, most with abstracts, for publications in agriculture and related areas such as nutrition, biotechnology, and botany.
American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library 1999 - present: Searchable database of full text of all ASAE technical documents including journals, conference proceedings, standards, technical meetings, and books.
Google Scholar Full-text @ UH Manoa links should automatically display. If the links are not displaying you can manually set the links to UH Manoa subscriptions by clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Settings. Click on Library links and search for Hawaii. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full Text @ UH Manoa and save your preferences. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
JSTOR JSTOR provides full-text journal backfiles of selected journals in many disciplines including general science, biological sciences, ecology and evolutionary biology, economics, and mathematics.

Comparing Scholarly Articles and Popular, Professional and Trade Sources

Scholarly	Popular, Professional and Trade
Always includes author names and institutional affiliations	Names are sometimes included, but are often anonymous staff writers
Always includes citations or footnotes	Seldom include citations or footnotes
Reports on experiments or other original research to make the results available to the scholarly community; sometimes literature reviews	Articles for the general public or for professionals in a specific industry about relevant trends and issues
Generally includes sections for introduction, materials and methods, results and discussion	Articles are generally short
Uses technical or specialized vocabulary	Written using vocabulary relevant to the publication's audience
Little or no advertising	Advertising that relates to the audience of the publication
Peer-reviewed before publication	Not reviewed by outside scholars

Searching Tool

Search Strategy Builder

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into most databases’ search boxes.

Now copy and paste the above Search Strategy into a database search box.

The Search Strategy Builder was developed by the University of Arizona Libraries(CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 US).

Some Recommended Journals

Soil Biology & Biochemistry
Print version 1969-2004; electronic version 1995-present
Plant and Soil
Print version 1948-2006; electronic version 1997-present
Soil & Tillage Research
Print version 1980-2004; electronic version 1995-present
Applied Soil Ecology : a Section of Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment
Electronic version 1995-present
Biology and fertility of soils.
Print version 1977 - 2004; electronic version 1995 - present
Geoderma
Call Number: S590 .G46
Print version 1967-2004; electronic version 2002 - present